Down on the Farm

Let the navel gazing begin!
Inspired by my wonderful sister Riana, I’m finally entering the blog world.

I first started farming in the city of Seattle in 1998. At the time, I was a book editor at Sasquatch Books, and one of our favorite authors was Carla Emery. She wrote a book called the Encyclopedia of Country Living. One day I was flipping through the newsprint pages of the book (this is how editors procrastinate) and happened upon a section called How to Build a Chicken House. By that time, I was gardening a little bit. I grew peas and some lettuces, but I hadn’t thought of actually growing animals. Carla inspired me, and soon we had three golden-laced wyanndotte chickens and a little hen house. In a strange coincidence, we later found an old Chinese billboard that read, “Hen”. We immediately hung in on our porch. I loved the eggs and the chickens.
Eventually I moved to California. Now I live and farm in Oakland, CA. I can see downtown O-Town from my back porch, BART seems to run straight across my living room, as does I-980. It’s really spiraled from those early years in Seattle: to bees, ducks, turkeys, rabbits, geese, and I hope, one day, goats or a pig. A mini-cow, maybe?
Glad you’re here.

2 responses to “Down on the Farm

  1. Yipeeeee, Novella!! You rock farm girl style. Can’t wait to see the photos and hear about your farm antics.

    love ya!

  2. Pingback: How Novella Carpenter started urban farming | Urban Organic

Leave a Reply

