Rhubarb and Fava Season

I love spring. It still rains about once a week so I don’t have to water everyday. And the produce coming out of the garden is so young and tender. Here’s a tart I made with our first rhubarb crop. I used a silicon tart pan that Riana gave me, so the crust was lovely and crispy. Also, pulled off the first fava beans a few days ago with my friend Kate. They are such a wonderful, vibrant color. To cook the bigger, older ones, I blanch the shelled beans in boiling water for five minutes, then peel off the outer jacket. Inside is the brightest green bean you’ll ever see. We fried them in garlic with some salami, served over polenta.

Leave a Reply

