Day 15–Mid-point

I’ve really gotten used to this 100-yard diet. Another breakthrough yesterday: young squash. Though I hate to poach my growing Blue Hubbards, there are so many on the vines, I cut one. It was about football size, and I immediately went up to the kitchen, grated it, then pan fried it in duck fat with some coriander seeds. Heaven! With a little stewed plums on the side, it was the perfect sweet/savory combo. I didn’t have to eat all day.
The other big news is I sold one of the baby rabbits! A family with three girls came by to check out the chicks through a backyard gardening program Willow runs, and they spotted the rabbits. They have two at home and want more. I think the dad is secretly going to raise them to eat. Anyway, now I have $8 that I earned from the farm (it was me, after all, who bred them and made sure the mama took care of the youngins, and fed them lovely greens from the Chinatown dumpsters), so what shall I spend the money on? Obviously, I want to buy food. But only food directly from a farmer. And it’s going to be cheese, I think. Any suggestions?

14 responses to “Day 15–Mid-point

  1. How about a book on ethics, morality, spirituality or something like that? You sold that adorable baby rabbit to his/her death for a mere $8 and you’re thrilled. You are clearly without a soul and easily bought cheap.

  2. I suggest you look in the mirror and ask yourself just what kind of values do you have. I live with six gorgeous rabbits–rabbits are the third most popular pet in America today, by the way–and I am disgusted that you could so casually condemn an innocent animal to death for money. I mean, you RAISED these rabbits. Do you have a heart at all?? Clearly you’re missing a conscience.

  3. I am disgusted!
    Would you be so happy to sell a dog or cat for dinner? for a few dollars?
    Do you know that rabbits are intelligent, loving, living creatures?

  4. Did you have any thought at all for how the rabbit would end up, or was the vast fortune of $8 the only thing that entered your head…perhaps it was the only thing there was space for!

  5. Auntie Heather

    My suggestion to you??? How to spend the money -a miserable $8.00!!!! Reparations: Buy good food for your animals. Change your attitude- Develope your love of creatures and stop hurting them. Please do not breed and sell little bunnies – it is not ok.
    Do not harm these innocent animals. Rabbits are gentle & they trust you – Please stop this sad, cruel behavior. Animals are not “things” we trade, sell, eat, kill”.

    Another idea for you: Volunteer at a local shelter. See what your breeding is causing – Perhaps stand by while hundreds of animals are killed every day, sad and lonely animals dumped by other people who don’t care!. – It is heartbreaking & sickening! So, stop contributing to the terrible problem of overpopulation and animal sales & deaths. Just STOP- Please.

  6. I have to ask you how you could condemn this beautiful baby rabbit to his death for a miserable $8? And worse, you are actually proud of your accomplishment. You want to know what to do with the $8? Suggestion: Donate it to Rabbitwise. It will not excuse what you have done, but the money will be used for a good cause. Then go have a long hard look at yourself. You have no consience!
    Colleen

  7. Novella Carpenter

    Hello animal rights activists! And welcome.
    Maybe you should read more of my blog to get a better sense of what I’m up to. I’m planning on killing and eating my rabbits–just as my mother did, and just as thousands of people who are trying to survive on the land do.
    I’ve written about raising and killing my own turkey, and I steal honey from my bees. I feed my animals wonderful, healthy food, and give them plenty of room to run around. I also kill them humanely and thank their spirits for giving their life to me so I can continue living.
    I admire your efforts–I have read Peter Singer’s Animal Liberation, and I understand your arguments. However, I feel as if humankind has domesticated these animals for thousands of years, our relationship with them is slated: we raise them and eat them for food. My goal is to eat as little meat as possible that I don’t raise myself. If you want to rail against someone, how about a meat-eating zombie who doesn’t even consider how the animals they eat lived or died.

  8. ugh, get a life, people (or should i say person? it’s pretty clear that you are all the same one person with nothing better to do than to terrorize this poor woman’s blog).

    i think you should get yourself some nice bellwether ricotta cheese. or you can come spend your $8 with me and i’ll make you something really special for lunch.

  9. LMAO at the Bunny Activist shake down with the multiple personalities (and no blog to speak of) that is really one person…with plenty of time on her hands.

    Paulette,We had rabbit for dinner last night. It was good, we eat rabbit once a week here in France where your name originated from.

    P.S. cat can be substituted for rabbit in times of war; grandpa told me that it tastes the same as rabbit.

  10. HI NOVELLA,
    I AM EXCITED WITH YOUR ADVENTURE. I TALKED WITH MY MOM’S CARETAKER AN OLDER WOMAN FROM ROMANIA AND TOLD HER WHAT YOU ARE DOING. SHE SAID THAT WHERE SHE IS FROM EVERYONE IN THEIR YARDS RAISES CHICKENS, DUCKS, RABBITS & PIGS IN ADDITION TO A VEGETABLE GARDEN FOR THEIR FAMILY DIET. SHE SAID THEY DID NOT DO MUCH FOOD SHOPPING. MY GRANDPARENTS DID THE SAME HERE IN PORTLAND OREGON. IT HELPED THEM GET THROUGH THE DEPRESSION WITH LITTLE FUNDS. I THINK WE HAVE FORGOTTEN WHERE WE HAVE COME FROM WHEN LIFE WAS SIMPLER AND MORE BASIC.I LOOK BACK WITH NOSTALGIA AND FEEL HOW MUCH WE HAVE LOST BY MOVING SO FAST. I ADMIRE YOUR DESIRE TO RECLAIM YOUR HERITAGE AND OUR HERITAGE.

  11. If you’re heading up the 101 towards Santa Rosa, try Joe Matos’ cheese. He’s an old Portuguese guy who makes just one kinda cheese. It’s delicious and you can probably get a sizable hunk for $8. Call ahead tho, b/c it’s a family farm and sometimes no one is home except the cows. 3669 Llano Rd., 707-584-5283.

  12. Novella Carpenter

    hi paula and rmd!
    thanks for your words of encouragement. i love those stories about victory gardens and people making due with less.
    i’ll def try to get a hold of joe.

  13. I’m late to the $8 party, but after reading these comments, it’s too bad you didn’t offer to slaughter the bunny for the meat as soon as you sold it. Dad would be like, “does bunny meat taste as good as rabbit meat?” Kids would faint. Could you bring some of those bunny-bun-buns to the farmers market for trade? I wonder if you could get more for barter than a sale.

  14. Novella Carpenter

    My good friend Willow said I cheated, but she still liked me. Because, yes, entering into the money world probably veered my experiment into something else. But if I bartered with the dad, what food item would I have gotten? Some meat from god knows where? I realized that currency is actually useful, but only every once in awhile. Plus, have I mentioned how much I love the wheat berries? The sourdough starter is still in the process but soon I’ll have BREAD.

Leave a Reply

