In Memory


Oh man, I miss the ducks and the geese. They really made the garden feel alive. Now it’s just one of my crazy black chickens and a bee hive. The survivor duck is doing pretty well for having a chunk of his butt removed. I’m getting all James Herriot with him–cleaning the wound, hand-feeding him food and water. The good thing is he’s eating corn and lettuce. He’s hanging with the rabbits, which he bites at if they get too close. He’s rightfully mad at mammals, me included.

BTW, yesterday I kind of binged. I met a friend for lunch and ate mussels, clams, and scallops. Later coffee with a different friend. Then Pakastani food at Shalimar in SF. Lordy. Today I’m back to eating from the garden: cuc, beet, and onion salad (but today, with the exotic spice called pepper) and a plate of pasta with tomatoes, garlic, and basil from the garden with some duck.

Hey, email me anytime: novellacarpenter (at) yahoo.com

3 responses to “In Memory

  1. Hi there…not sure how I stumbled onto your site, but I love it! Great work you’re doing. Congrats on the 100 yd month! Great splurge on Shalimar, I love that place!

  2. Novella Carpenter

    thanks geggie–and welcome.
    shalimar: the bhuna ghost is heaven. plus, the chai kept me up all night.

  3. So sorry to hear about the massacre. Glad you’re putting them to good use, though.

    By the way, I always like your pieces up at Salon.

Leave a Reply

