Pasta making


Finally my broody chicken has returned to the world of the living. For almost two months (hens tend to brood–adamantly sit on their nest) she sequestered herself in the lot under the bougainevilla. Every once in awhile she’d get up, take a big one and run around clucking like a mad woman. She followed me back into the backyard last week and now is enjoying the company of the pigs, the turkeys, and her other chicken friend. She’s also laying eggs again. In celebration, I made some fresh pasta using her eggs. Of course when I was rolling it out (one blog said you’re supposed to roll the pasta dough until you work up a sweat on your back), I broke my rolling pin. Jesus. Needless to say, the pasta was a bit thick, but delicious. BTW, the stuff in the background of this photo is the leavings from the nocino, which I decanted today. I’ve got about 3 quarts of the liquor, which is supposed to age until winter. It smells like heaven, it tastes a bit medicinal.
P.S. Dumpster find of the week: 25 containers of champagne grapes. The pigs stomped them up in their trough and made the most glorious sucking/slurping noises.

11 responses to “Pasta making

  1. I use a dowel-type rolling pin (looks like this, but sure not made of olive wood) and it’s fabulous. They’re pretty expensive for being a round piece of wood, but well worth it. You get a lot more control than with the handled pins.

  2. Dumpster food finds are long a thing of the past within 50 miles of San Diego or so. I can’t even get the stores to let me have it pre-dumpster! A small store or 2 may exist but none are really close to me. I don’t shop frequently and do all my errands along the route. You’d think that the saved space would be a consideration and cost saver for them, but it isn’t. Their concerns are the homeless hanging around and time wasted. They already overcharge way too much for food so the extra charges are figured in.

    Nothing makes me happier than going into a food mart and not needing to buy very much because I produce it on my own. I love looking at the produce, baked and fresh items and thinking – Nope, no, no – just picked some, have some, made some or will make some! It’s a shame more people do not grow some of their own produce especially.

    I have my Grandmother’s rolling pin plus several other pins (including a marble one) and a manual pasta machine all purchased at yard, estate and rummage sales for virtually nothing. Bet you already have a suitable replacement of some sort or that one is just around your corner!

  3. You have some damn good dumpsters or you have honed your dumpster diving senses to find the good ones. Can’t wait for you to show me the ropes here.

    I have a chicken lady at our farmers market that also sells rabbits, she has been saving the heads for Lucky; he is a rabbit head addict and its good for cats.

    Homemade pasta sounds great!

  4. Novella Carpenter

    thanks for the rolling pin tip. i’ve used a bottle before, i’m a scrounger, not picky. i’m sure my mom will send me a new one from the thrift store after seeing this post!
    fraubucher–you rule. that sucks about san diego and dumpsters. have you tried those little fruit stand guys, though? or, if you go to the farmer’s market, they always have mangled fruit. do you have critters for the d-stered food? oh–and is there a chinatown in san diego? check it girl.
    riana–i can’t imagine d-diving in france. but it might be cool.

  5. Almost Vegetarian

    Wow, I never knew anyone strong enough to break a rolling pin! I suspect your dough was a wee bit dense. You can try sprinkling on some water (just get your fingertips wet then sprinkle the dough). It’ll save you a fortune in rolling pins! Of course, you can just go the easy route and get a pasta maker (they are fairly inexpensive). It’s what we do.

    Cheers!

  6. Your blog is amazing! I can’t believe you live in the next town over and have a farm–that is just so very very very VERY cool (I’ve always wanted to raise chickens–but my drama is mostly with the gophers who have eaten my tarragon, chervil, chamomile, pea plants, and brussel sprout plants). i love reading about your farm and your cooking exploits and all.

    keep on posting, I am reading. :)

  7. Novella Carpenter

    hey a.v.–i used pure semolina, too, which might’ve been a misstep. what blend of flour do you use?

  8. Hey Novella- Thanks for the tips but No Chinatown in SD and I live too far from downtown/SD. I’m in the unincorporated foothills where it used to be rural but some holdouts like me continue in that fashion. I do frequent the fruit stands whenever possible for leftovers. (Not too many of them left either.) I have chickens, emus, parrots, goats and an “inherited” rabbit (neighbor moved). We’re lacto-ovo vegetarian. so no hogs or cattle. Whatever my critters don’t eat I compost to pot up plants I grow for the SD chapter CA Native Plant Society and
    my town’s garden club sales. I do organic gardening so have to be careful about the foreign stuff going into my food beds immediately.

  9. hello miss novella,
    at work, i am obsessed with using the finest flour i can find for pasta, but sadly, it’s from italy. we won’t buy any more after we use up what we have. but our normal recipe is:

    1 cup durum (not semolina. durum is ground much finer than semolina)
    1/2 cup bread flour
    1/2 cup AP
    1 egg
    1 egg yolk
    (depending on your eggs, you might need an extra)

    make sure to let your dough rest after you bring it together. it’ll be a lot easier to roll out that way.

    and, though i make my dough a bit dry at work, it’s because we have a very powerful machine. for hand-rolled pasta, it’s very important to have a wet, supple dough so you don’t kill yourself rolling it out. in italy, the woman i worked for added 15! eggs to every kilo of flour. that’s a heck of a lot.

  10. Novella Carpenter

    samin! i’m such a dumb ass, i should’ve just asked you. i wonder if the full belly people will/can grow durum? i heard too that eastern washington is dabbling…
    so, see you wednesday. did i tell you we’re starting a goat collective? first meeting in a few days–i’ll update you when we meet.

  11. Wow! Great to find a post with such a clear megessa!

Leave a Reply

