Pork marathon, part two





And on the second day, we made salami.
Can I repeat how pleased I am to be working with (well, basically watching) Chris Lee. Look at this shot of him skinning the pork shoulder! Total rockstar butcher. And Samin is so talented and beautiful. How is that I’m so lucky? We started the curing process for 2 coppas, which is basically trimmed pork shoulder stuffed into a beef intestine. We applied a salt cure (nitrates), dextrose, and salt to the meat and put it in the walk-in. Then, with the trimmings and fat from the shoulder, we made salami. Sorry, top secret recipe.
Tomorrow: head cheese. Stay tuned.

5 responses to “Pork marathon, part two

  1. Okay I take it all back. Stop it with the “I’m rolling in delicious pig meat” posts. I’m too jealous.

    I’m am soooo gettin’ me some piggies.

  2. Novella Carpenter

    nat;
    remind me: where do you live? you’re more than welcome to come over for a tasting if you’re in the bay area…
    my advice is to get a few connections at restaurants/dumpsters before the pigs get too big. it nearly destroyed us supplying them 7 buckets a day. but if you had a connection it would just be a matter of picking up the slop buckets.
    i think the durocs were really good in terms of fat. decide what breed based on what you want to do with the meat. i guess red wattles and yorkshires have kind of soft meat, not good for making salami.

  3. how much fun is that to be making salamis? wow!!!

  4. I’m in portland, orygun. The “city code” says you can only have pot-bellied pigs, but I don’t know how those work out for eating. I’m close to a “restaurant row” kind of place, so that would be the first step – lining up the slop. Pygmy goats are first on my list, though. My daughter is begging for them. I’ve got to figure out for sure if you can milk them for cheese.

  5. Novella Carpenter

    hey nat;
    i asked a goat expert and he said the pygmies are really hard to milk and they don’t make much. they also need company–two is the bare minimum. maybe you should try a collective where someone with a bigger space hosts the goats and other people promise to milk, feed, and walk them?
    i hear they’ve bred mini-cows but they’re mighty expensive.

Leave a Reply

