Goats! Farm Saved! Turkey sex!


There’s so much turbulence out there right now. Things are changing so fast, it’s spring about to hit, I guess. Even though I’m trying to finish my manuscript, I have to share this good news:
Today I went to this salvage yard to get materials for the goat shed–yes, I put a deposit down on a sweet little dwarf Nigerian goat named Bebe, I’m picking her up next Sunday! Work party this Saturday to build her a shed and kidding area (yes, she’s pregnant). After we unloaded the building supplies, this tiny woman came by and asked about the garden. I said, oh, you should talk to me. She said, I just bought the lot! I gave her a little tour, and told her I’ve always thought that the lot would one day not be mine anymore. For the past five years we’ve been squatting on the garden, always fearful that they’ll bulldoze the garden and build condos right next to our house.
And she said–her name is Shirley–oh no, I’m not going to build for a long time. Can we just have an agreement that you take care of it and I’ll let you know when it’s time for me to build? She wants me to officially take care of her lot! Before she left, I asked her if I could plant anything for her–she said she loves roses and tiger lilies, and she gave me a delighted little grin that is the cutest thing ever. Thank god the former owner, with his fabulous dreams of 10-unit condos, is no longer in my life!
In other news–Archie and Edith have been, um, humping. It’s very interesting how turkeys do it. I’ll take photos next chance I get.

5 responses to “Goats! Farm Saved! Turkey sex!

  1. DRAMA! With happy endings! I love it.

    I love the goat, the agreement with the lot owner (the uncertainty finally gone), and the turkey sex. We spotted the wild turkeys in our neighborhood yesterday morning–I was so happy to see them. There were 5 last year and now there are two. I like to think the other 3 flew away.

  2. Riana Lagarde

    awwww eiditht! says archie…

    great news all around! happy days!!

  3. I’m so glad that she was so cool! I can’t wait to see turkey sex photos. We used to have some that lived in our backyard, and they were so goofy. I never did get to catch them in the act though.

  4. Congratulations, honey!

    She looks like a lovely goat.

  5. duane marcus <a href="http://www.facebook.com/people/Duane_Marcus/541048543">Facebook me!</a>

    That’s great news. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

