Merry f-ing Christmas

Yesterday I felt all Scrooge-like about xmas. but then after a shift at the Oasis, the biofuel station I run with some friends, suddenly my heart was filled with goodwill and joy. Our custies are so wonderful and happy! I came home and made some spicy tomato soup and baked lime bars for our loyal customers. Then I packed some olives to give as gifts. Then I squeezed on Bebe’s teats and tried to get a whisper of milk out of her.

biofuel-bwsmall

I went up to Lake County and picked up the goats last week. Of course it started snowing. Of course I had no heater and only one windshield wiper worked (the wrong one). Bebe and Orla looked like mountain goats. They sprouted some major fur while up north. I got a quick glance at another buck she got to be with–a dark hairy guy who was just adorable. Leah told me Orla’s probably not preggers because she’s a bit young and um, stubborn. I might try to breed her again in March. We packed the goats into a dog crate as the snow swirled down. I drove like a banshee to get home before it got too dark and cold. When I opened up the dog crate, Orla and Bebe were all cozy and warm inside. They smelled like bucks, which is to say, high goat.  They jumped out and ran toward the backyard where they live. It was a joyous homecoming–I really missed having them around.

farmshot

But I also miss their milk. Bebe isn’t producing much, which Leah said is normal post-breeding. I’ve been milking her twice a day to increase production. The milk tastes bitter and gross–a natural occurence post-breeding, somehow the buck hormones get into the milk. Eventually I’m hoping Bebe will give me her usual sweet, high-fat milk. I sure do miss my morning goat cappuccino.

bebesays2

2 responses to “Merry f-ing Christmas

  1. I have never has goats milk, how does it compare to cow’s milk? I really do not like cows milk but I am open to trying anything. I gather from your blog that you milk your own goats, but can you also purchase it at a store?

  2. hi there.
    hmm. if you don’t like cow’s milk, goat’s isn’t that much different. some people who are lactose intolerant can drink goat milk. the fat globules are much smaller in goat milk. i love both cow and goat milk. many people don’t like goat milk if they’ve had a bad experience–that goat-y tangy taste that marks milk that wasn’t handled properly. not that i’m a neat freak, but clean udders, milked into a clean vessel, and then filtered and put in the fridge makes a pure smooth-tasting milk without any wild flavors.

Leave a Reply

