Reminder: Saturday, August 29 and some tips

Hey everyone!

Just a reminder about the farm tour this Saturday, August 29th. Based on recent conversations and comments, I think it’s going to be a totally packed farm on Saturday. To that end, I’d like to suggest a couple things:

-Ride bikes if possible. We won’t have bike valet parking (I wish!) but there’s a good place to park them against the fence in the playfield and on various street signs. If you do drive, don’t park on 28th Street. It’s a dead-end and I don’t want my neighbors to get mad. Best thing is to park on MLK, better to bike.

-Though I had fantasies of cooking fried rabbit soaked in goat buttermilk, that’s just not going to happen, so I thought: potluck! If you are a farmer/gardener, please bring something from your homestead to share. Make a little label telling us where it’s from, how you grew it, etc. Then we can all learn from each other. There is a grill, so we can cook stuff, too.

-Bring water. I’m trying to find one of those construction crew water dispensers, but it might not pan out. So best thing is to bring a water bottle.

-GhostTown schwag. If you’re interested, I’ll be selling copies of my book, t-shirts (Goat Town), and small plates of goat cheese/tomato/olives. There’s a good chance my neighbor, aka Grandma, is going to make peach cobbler, too.

-Volunteers. I might need 2 or 3 volunteers to act as docents (directing people where to park their bikes, signing people in, etc). Let me know if you can help–just email me at novellacarpenter at gmail.com.

Yay! Can’t wait to see you.

9 responses to “Reminder: Saturday, August 29 and some tips

  1. Hey, if you have extra t-shirts for sale will you make them available on your website? I live in Missouri and can’t make it to your farm tour but would love to own a Goat Town shirt. I also understand if doing all that over the internet is waay too much work.

  2. Pretty awesome, Novella. Congrats on your fame! Keep up the good work.

  3. Could small, very well-behaved on-leash dogs come to the farm tour with their people?

    btw, love your book, love what you’re doing.

  4. Hey, just wanted to say I’m going to stop by with a few other people (5 total maybe?) on Saturday for the 5PM tour and some dinner fun, I read your book and am super excited!

    Katie

  5. ghosttownfarm

    hi y’all: small well-behaved dogs are fine to bring to the tour. i might even try to kiss them and make cooing noises…rat terriers a bonus.

  6. ghosttownfarm

    antonio; if i have any leftover, i will send one. what’s your size?

  7. You are too sweet.

    I’d wear a large. Whether you have one leftover or not, I appreciate it.

  8. how did it go?! i was at kimchi making class and thought of you at the farm today under the hot sun!

  9. krishna Harrison-Munoz

    Well, it was a pleasure to see what you have done with your land in Oakland. I am a new student at CIIS and have joined the permaculture club. We are eager to be a part of the larger community and would like to inquire about visiting your farm as a group and attending a workshop with you as a group. Please just let us know how to proceed. Thanks and much good juju to you! Krishna

Leave a Reply

