Turkey Class: Austin, Texas

Welp, I’m going to do it. Teach a turkey raisin’ and killin’ class in Austin. The day before I go on a panel with Jonathan Safran Foer, vegetarian author of Eating Animals (and two great novels). There’s another guy on the panel who will be talking about how local food and eating meat is just all wrong. Don’t think I don’t recognize a paradox: I’m the nutball Californian coming to Texas where I will be the only gal (ahem) on stage promoting meat eating. 

It is fitting, then, that while I’m in Texas, I’m going to revisit the first meat bird I raised: the all-American turkey. A small-scale, locally raised, heritage breed turkey embodies all of the issues I grappled with as a blossoming urban farmer: why eat meat? can I kill it myself? how does this turkey feel about this process? how does this make me more or less human?

But this time, come October 31, I’m going to teach other people how to do it. I’ve taught this class before: last year, to a group of college students who were learning about urban farming. The feedback I got was powerful: the students had a new understanding of Thanksgiving, of what it means to eat meat. One of the students was a vegan, and I respected him so much for coming to see exactly what he opposed and to figure out why. I think that’s great. I do think people should eat less meat. And I think it’s good to take a really close look. 

I’m lucky that my brilliant and wonderful friend happens to be an urban farmer in Austin, and she raises heritage breed turkeys on her farm! She has graciously offered her urban farm as a place to host a class. And so, if you are in Austin, or know someone in Austin, please sign up or spread the word; details follow. 

The Complete Turkey

Saturday, Oct 31, 10am-1pm

For meat eaters, raising turkeys is a dare, a stunt, a Herculean effort. The turkey is the most American of birds—native to North America, eaten by Indians, Aztecs, and pilgrims. Most people, come November, eat a Thanksgiving turkey without really knowing what a turkey looks or acts like, much less all the work that goes into raising one of these birds for the table.  In this class, we will show best practices for raising your own Thanksgiving turkey, including feeding, coop construction, breeding, and day to day care.

Following these basics, we will “harvest” a heritage breed turkey. Novella will demonstrate a humane, fool-proof method of dispatching a turkey, including plucking and cleaning. Seeing this process firsthand will make your upcoming Thanksgiving more meaningful than ever.

What: Complete Turkey, Oct 31

How much: $30/person

Time: 10am-1pm; 3 hours total

Attending: 15 max

Where: East Austin, address given upon registration.

About the Instructor Novella Carpenter is the author of Farm City: The Education of an Urban Farmer (the Penguin Press, June 2009). She farms on a 4500 square foot abandoned lot near downtown Oakland and has been raising farm animals in urban areas for over ten years. Her writings have appeared in Mother Jones, Food and Wine, salon.com, and more. She studied with Michael Pollan for two years at University of California Berkeley’s Graduate School of Journalism.

To sign up, email novellacarpenter@gmail dot com for further instructions.turkey1

6 responses to “Turkey Class: Austin, Texas

  1. Turkey deserve to die ’cause they ugly.
    And stupid.
    And yummy…..

  2. Pingback: Kill and forage: Latest eco-foodie trends | green LA girl

  3. Paula, Noooo! turkeys are not ugly and stupid. I think they are beautiful and sweet. I have slaughtered and eaten them but definitely NOT because they deserve to die as you say. Nothing “deserves to die”

    Novella, I loved your book! I’m so happy to know you are, practicing and teaching these kinds of things. I always get odd looks when I tell people I teach meat chicken classes (which includes slaughter) in addition backyard layer classes.

  4. ghosttownfarm

    joan is right: turkeys are not ugly or stupid. even if they were, we wouldn’t kill them for that. we kill them because they are, when properly cooked, delicious! and they’re american.
    hey joan, did you know i’m coming to mass? boston area? mid-november? yay!

  5. Pingback: Rabbit Class: Brooklyn « Ghost Town Farm

  6. Hi Novella! I hope you will share with us a little of what you learn in this class, as my husband has given me the go-ahead to get a turkey along with our chickens (seeing them at the petting zoo, all puffed up and beautiful, changed his mind!) and yet after reading about your various travails with your turkeys (and having once been attacked by one in Guatemala), I’m very nervous. I would love to be able to share all your knowledge and insight!

Leave a Reply

