Day Two

Feeling more human, but not quite.

Last night I cooked up the best part of the rabbit, as a gift to myself. The loins. They are the two strips of muscle running along their backs. Like a pork loin, these muscles don’t do much so they are tender, tender, tender. I fried them in duck fat, sprinkled with salt, and a side of home-made Gravenstein apple sauce. Heaven. Still, I went to bed hungry at 9:30. Now that I look back on it, I was going out to eat almost every fricking night! I had really gotten used to eating way too much food. I blame Bill.

Couldn’t get up this morning. What do I possibly have to look forward to? Usually the thought of the tea with milk and honey was a huge motivator. I settled by into bed for a long morning, cuddling with cuzzin the cat. But the chickens kept coming up to the back stairs demanding their food, and then the goats whinied, etc. You can see how people live longer because of their demanding animals.

Once up, I made what will surely become my new tea: frothed goat milk with honey. And two aspirins because there is no caffeine in either of those things.

Then I devoured a quarter of a baked trimable winter squash. Holy carb day-dream.

Since there was a rainstorm, I made some tomato soup from the rabbit bone stock, and enjoyed the fringed side area of the rabbit, which is flat and should taste like a veal milanesa but I didn’t pound it, so it was like an insole of a shoe. Still, pretty good when fried in duck fat. The soup is amazing. Also, a garden salad was picked before the storm. Then I think our chimney blew off the house. Oh well, I’m doing a cleanse, dammit, I can’t worry about my rented  apartment’s infrastructure.

More applesauce. Discovered two of the baby rabbits are missing, and one is wounded. What is going on out there on the deck? Is it like Watership Down? Separated everyone. Fuck. Now I have two baby bunnies (the albino survived) in my apartment.

Dinner of soup, rabbit forelegs (sorry little guys, ignore that frying smell, it’s just your aunt!), and applesauce with dollop of Bebe cream. Mercy.

11 responses to “Day Two

  1. you make your diet sound amazing, novella.

  2. I know how tasty duck fat can be, but what about moving to butter or even oil for cooking this month…just a thought.

  3. novella, good to see you blogging more. i’m enjoying the struggles of your diet.

  4. Gosh, I admire your commitment! I too strive to produce as much of my own food as feasible. But it’ll be a cold day in before I willingly go without tea in the morning. And no, the bush won’t grow where I live, though I suppose, if I were sufficiently committed, I could try it in a container to be brought indoors in winter. As it is, I still drink my Peaberry’s and my Peet’s teas, even though I’m now on the east coast. I should probably switch to something organic and fair trade, but we all have our little vices.

    What happened to the three tea plants you had earlier? Not time for harvest?

  5. I just got your book from the library and last night finished the section about your original 100 yard diet. I am delighting in your book, I will be sorry to see it end, though it’s so great to follow what you are up to on your blog. I live in a small town and am currently petitioning city council to allow backyard hens- hoping the ordinance will be changed in time for spring chicks!

  6. Novella- you’ll eventually do without caffeine alright. I weaned myself off three cups of coffee a day, to weaning myself off decaffeinated black tea and drink only herbal tea now. Maybe some Camellia sinensis plants could be grown in your front yard along the walk, or something. If camellias can grow all over San Jose, where I grew up, they can grow in Oakland!

  7. Aww. Rabbits are the one thing I just can’t bring myself to eat. (But still want to raise–angora ones, for their fur, which are more useful uneaten anyhow) but even so, your diet sounds amazing!

  8. hey guys;
    i wish i still had the camelia plants but two died (they needed more heat, i think). my beautiful remaining one bit the dust when my landlord hired a guy to cut back the front bushes and he cut it all the way down, even though i begged, begged him not to. these are my issues.

  9. i’d guess a skunk got your bunnies. Cynthia

  10. I suggest planting a few seaberry/sea buckthorn bushes and using their leaves as a tea substitute.

  11. Novella, I just finished your book and was sad to see it end. Happy to have found you here and PICTURES! I can picture in my mind, but so nice to see your garden and animals for real. Thanks for bringing us into your world.

Leave a Reply

