No Idea What Day It Is

A lot of fancy chef people don’t like squash. I love it, mostly because I love to grow them. My favorite squash–the triamble or shamrock squash–yielded a pretty good crop of five or six big ones this fall. I noticed that I hadn’t been eating them, partially because they are so beautiful, partially because what the hell would I do with an entire squash? During this little stunt, I found that I can eat a whole squash quite easily.

1. Squash soup obviously. I made mine with rabbit stock, squash, a jar of tomatoes, and a bit of milk.

2. Baked squash. God, look how gorgeous this looks! A ramekin of ricotta is lurking in the background….

3. Gnocchi. Squash gnocchi? Yup. With just a couple cheat tablespoons of flour, these squash dumplings per Ms. MFK Fisher were weirdly outstanding. The recipe called for 2 cups baked squash, 2 eggs, 2 tbs flour, and a pinch of baking soda. I let this concoction drain overnight, then dunked full spoons of the goo into boiled salted water. Amazingly, they held together and bobbed up to the top. I let them cook for a bit longer before scooping them out with a slotted spoon. Served with pepper and parsley. Baby! Like little carb and protein pillows. Note that I doubt I would make this dish again. The texture was kind of bizarre. But when you’re starving….

P.S. How did everyone else’s turn out, if you got Triamble seeds from me? I’ve saved the seeds, let me know if you’d like a few for your garden and I’ll send some over. Just email me at novellacarpenter@gmail.com with your address….

20 responses to “No Idea What Day It Is

  1. Baked squash is a shot at experiencing godhead. Sliced into a salad or just munched on crackly and raw is a joy. I luvs squash. You are so lucky.

  2. I too made gnocchi with the triamble–and I too experienced a weird texture. But it’s fantastic eats for everything else: soup, gratin, and PIE! I’m always grateful that you brought triamble into my garden.

  3. Maureen in Oakland

    My plant pooped out last year. I am going to try again this year and plant it away from the other squash (potimarron and butternut). It looks gorgeous!

  4. Hi Novella. That sounds like a great use of squash…though I think you’re right about the texture. Maybe 1:1 squash:flour and the texture would be good…when you’re off the diet, of course.

    Thanks for the seeds! I think the germination was maybe 50% but it was kind of cold when I planted ‘em. It was a pretty successful squash year all around out here though.
    http://fastgrowtheweeds.com/2009/10/28/on-moving-day/

    good luck with getting those pants to fit! It’s always tough this time of year I think, not enough outdoor work to balance those beloved carbs.

  5. One of my fave ways to eat squash is in tempura. The first time I had it I thought it might be battered and fried mango or similar. When I found out it was squash, I was pretty excited.

  6. That is a super beautiful squash. It would make a tasty pie! I tried growing something similar 2 years ago and had ALOT of squash but not enough time for them mature(chickens loved them though and their eggs were bright orange!). Our season here in Ontario(Canada) is sometimes too short(depending on the year..and Momma Nature). It is surprising that the chefs don’t like them , something like that sells pretty well for us. I am enjoying your blog and just recently was passed down your book! Thanks, Laura

  7. That is a beautiful squash, and looks like it has a good flesh to seed ratio, making it look like it’s worth growing. I hate when you dedicate space to something and then don’t get much out of it.

    The Italians make ravioli with squash a lot, and when you get low on flour, you could always make a crust-less pie with honey, eggs, and goat milk (which I know you have), in which case it would technically be a pudding, but still good.

  8. Just finished the book last night, which I found thanks to a flier about authors visiting Neenah, WI. I really enjoyed. Thank you for the great read.

    Are you still with Bill?

  9. I really enjoy triamble squash, but my favorite has to be Marina di Chioggia. It’s sweeter and drier than the triamble. I’ve used it to make gnocchi and it was superb. Looking forward to doing it again this year.

  10. Love the gnocchi idea. Have to wait until next year’s harvest, though. I’m also partial to Marina, but haven’t tried triamble….

  11. I do low carb because that’s how I manage diabetes without drugs (successfully, I might add). So I don’t EAT squash. But mine have been very useful. I use them like oversized paperweights. I have 2 on top of the chick brooder to keep the cats off it. I even wrapped them in colorful paper and put bows on them at Christmas to make them more decorative. They last for months and when they start to deteriorate the next crop is almost ready.

  12. I have never eaten a triamble squash but do have seeds for it this year. Marina di Chiogga is definetly one of the best I have ever had, along with butternut, and a Hopi heirloom white pumpkin.

  13. Novella-
    I got your seeds (thanks!) and had 4 beautiful and huge plants. I mean take over the backyard huge. But I only got one beautiful triamble. They seemed not to bloom (male blossoms) until really late. Do you know why? I called my extension service and they didn’t know either!

  14. Forgot to mention, I thought the triamble was so cool looking – but kind of bland and grainy. I’ll try planting them earlier this year.

  15. ghosttownfarm

    daniela! hey girl. no! no! it was bland and grainy? poop. mine is silky and dry and perfect. try again! but maybe it’s just my climate is better for it?

  16. simplicitygardens

    Finished the book last nite. It was one of those ‘gobble down in one whole bite’ reads. Very inspiring,Thank you! I’d love to try that beauty of a squash if you have any seeds left. Sending you my address.

  17. I’d *kill* to be able to grow those here. Fucking North-of-Seattle…

  18. I tried growing Triamble on my porch! It turns out that squashes seem to need to be on the ground so they can spread out and have support under the fruits. We had so much fun watching it and learning about all the ways it wasn’t going to work. I finally pulled it out in November or December—it spend the summer vining its way around and through all the other potted plants and the railing, and spitting out flower after flower. My boyfriend would save pollen on a q-tip to try to help them pollinate because the male and female flowers wouldn’t show up at the same time (I still have the pollen on my desk, actually).

  19. You sent me triamble seeds last year, and I was so excited about this gesture of internet gardening philanthropy that I put the envelope in a clever hiding spot and didn’t find it ’till July. Now, July is not really the time to be planting things in Minnesota, so I’m going to plant them this year instead. I plan to start all of the seeds indoors and share the seedlings with other people in my community garden so that their plots can also be overrun with beautiful squash. Will let you know how it goes. Thank you!

  20. Just got my seeds in the mail today.
    Thanks Novella!

Leave a Reply

