Open Farm Tour: July 5

Howdy y’all. Just wanted to make it more official: there will be an open farm day July 5, 10am-1pm. The address is 665 28th street, at MLK. If you can, please ride your bike or BART/walk. If you can’t, park on Martin Luther King, not 28th Street (it’s a short street). Note that this won’t be a full-on tour. That is, I won’t be leading tours into the backyard where the animals are, but I will bring the goats out on the hour (10am, 11 am, 12 pm, 1pm). I’ll set up a duck pen in the garden so people can see them, likewise with the rabbits. The bees will be buzzing and I plan to have signage so people can do a self-guided tour around the garden. There will not be a bathroom, so plan accordingly. It’s important to note that this is my home, so I’m trying to set up some boundaries–please don’t just drop by my house/farm except on tour days like this one.

I’ll be selling books, greens, and the t-shirts/western shirts with the new design. Yay!

Also: today, Wednesday, I’ll be at the Pop-up General Store selling GT salad greens, arugula, and preserved lemons. It’s in that big red building–Grace Street Catering, 49th and MLK, 5pm-7pm.

12 responses to “Open Farm Tour: July 5

  1. Yay… I hope to attend.

  2. Just hoping to let folks know there is a urban farm up for a 100,000 grant on todayshow.com. It’s Gateway Greening. Votes are due July 6.

  3. Are you gonna have any other open farm days later in july?

  4. Just finished your book — Absolutely loved it.

    If you ever need to barter for some legal help, feel free to reach out to me. I’d love to be a supporter for your cause.

  5. Botched the link on the last comment. You can find me at:

    techlawgarden.com

    or

    bitingtongue.blogspot.com

  6. This is a cruel twist of fate. I am an Oakland teacher who has been meaning to read your work for a while (recommended to me by other Oakland teachers), and I found your book at the Pt. Isabel Costco this morning round 10:30 am. I giddily read it from 1 this afternoon till 4, finished the book, and then immediately looked up this blog. Only to find that I have missed a chance to visit your farm on this very day. Oh well. Please do hold other open farm days, I would love to bring students by!

    P.S.–One of the things that most impressed me about FARM CITY was the respectful, open and honest way you discussed kids in Oakland and their lives. As someone who works with Oakland students, this is rare to see, and so important. Thank you.

  7. thanks maggie! there will be other farm tours. i’ll be doing a pop-up farmstand (sans official tour) in the next week or so….

  8. I came by to see the farm yesterday thank you for sharing your garden. After reading your book it was a treat to see it in person.

  9. Novella – are you willing to ship tee shirts?

  10. ghosttownfarm

    hi lisa;
    yeah, i’ll ship one or two tees. there aren’t very many left, guess i need to start thrifting again…

  11. ghosttownfarm

    thank you maggie. i’m going to have a pop up farmstand next week so stay tuned…

  12. christina stelyn

    Thanks you so much for writing this awesome book. I live downtown Chicago with a tiny little yard nest to vacant alley spots and a huge vacant lot. I have only taken over the alley so far but you have made me open my eyes to stepping into the great open.
    P.S. I killed my first chicken last night. Agh.

Leave a Reply

