Calling Urban Farmers

As much as I hate driving, sometimes it gives me a good idea. The other day, on the hour drive up to Dixon to buy hay and a manger, I realized that I should invite other urban farmers to my pop-up farmstand so they can sell their produce. It’ll be like an urban farmers market!

This is happening Oct 27th (next Wednesday) from 4pm-7pm; and again on November 17th 4pm-7pm; at 665 28th street at MLK.

If you live in the East Bay and are an urban grower/farmer, consider this a call to contact me (novellacarpenter at gmail), to sign up to sell. In your email, tell me what you’d like to sell, where you live, and we’ll figure it out. Obviously you have to have grown it yourself! Added value is neat, but let’s start with veg, fruits, eggs first and go from there. I’ve noticed that things like eggs, honey, and potatoes are huge sellers! I’ll have some tables but if you have a table, by all means, bring it. I’ll be selling dino kale, figs, salad mix, and a few plant starts. You’ll be selling what?

Also, note that tomorrow (Wednesday, Oct 20) I’ll be selling stuff at the Pop Up General Store at Martin Luther King Jr Way and 49th Street, 5-7pm. See you there!

25 responses to “Calling Urban Farmers

  1. Also, note that tomorrow you will be selling stuff at the Pop Up General Store

  2. I’m probably too far north, in Vallejo, to be considered “East Bay.” Either way, we’re in a transition period and pretty much eating everything we’re producing.

  3. Great idea!!! I think we are always stronger when we work together!

  4. Great idea! I wish I had something to sell. My backyard farm has been a miserable failure this year. Sigh.

  5. This is so cool. I would like to participate but have nothing now; just cleared out my garden and have planted seeds for late winter, early spring harvests.

  6. I’m with Maureen. You would have had me at zucchini, but even that is gone. Not that I had much to begin with. I have a watermelon and a handful of green onions left. I am *so* over this crappy “summer”. Maybe I’ll stop by to pick up some starts!

  7. Great idea Novella! For the urban farmers that don’t have something to sell now but do on and off through the year, send me an email to sign up in the urban farmer directory! You can learn more about the project at: http://kck.st/aFNxW3

  8. Curses for me being an Oregonian! Well must admit my tomatoes did not do well enough this year for a farmers market anyway, but it would be fun.

  9. I ‘ll be there with peppers, herbs and fresh cut flowers, except wait, I’m in Macon GA. Damn.
    I LOVE the popUp general store idea, and have asked if they would take thier show on the road. We’ll see. Until then, I’ll keep following vitrually.

  10. Hey all who had problems growing this summer: buy or borrow The Resilient Gardener, by Carol Deppe (Chelsea Green Publishing)- she gives a lot of strategies for dealing with erratic weather.

    I hate it when people plug their own blogs, so forgive me: I have a review of her book if you want to read more about it: http://weedingforgodot.blogspot.com/2010/10/resilient-gardener.html

    Good luck with your next garden!

  11. brilliant idea, vel.

  12. I visited the pop up general store the other day and was sad to see that you were the only supplier of fruits/vegetables, so I’m happy to hear that you’re looking to expand. Your tomatoes were exquisite. Thank you for the advice you gave me on gardening books. I so want to grow my own vegetables so maybe this will get me going. Any chance you ever do consultations/advice giving?

  13. what about broken up concrete? Or used auto parts?

  14. How bout old cat hair?

  15. Your book is a big hit in Seattle and I am looking forward to getting chickens this spring. Thanks for the inspiration!

  16. Well I thought I’d be bringing chicken eggs, but there’s been a run on them here at the homestead so I’m completely sold out. But no worries. I have approximately 6 lbs of chevre hanging in little muslin sacks all over my kitchen that I will be selling as “pet food”. I’ll also have pickled quail eggs and perhaps some baked goods. See you tomorrow afternoon!

  17. I won’t be bringing anything this time, but I am curious if anyone is interested in wild olive leaf arugula? It’s more spicy than what you get at the store. It has a nice bite.

  18. Love your blog. In Washington, so can’t join in: only have herbs, sunchokes, and a few greens now.

  19. I’ve been reading your blog for a few months and I love hearing about what’s going on at your little farm. It was cool to see the article about you in the November Vogue as well!

  20. ghosttownfarm

    hi carla;
    funny you should ask–someone did bring some of this arugula. it was very tasty!
    stephany and karen: $50 for pregnant females (not guaranteed preg but i’ll have oreo do his best!)

  21. ghosttownfarm

    emily;
    oh yeah, vogue! i heart hamish. we had a blast. you can’t believe how much he left out….
    thanks for readin’!

  22. ghosttownfarm

    hi elizabeth;
    glad you liked the tomatoes!
    i don’t do consultations, as i’m too scattered/disorganized. but start checking out gardens and you’ll get ideas!

  23. Hi, it was me who brought the arugula. You asked for seeds and I said the next time I’d bring some. It seems to propagate best from cuttings. When I see you I’ll explain. I’ve given it to quite a few people who have had success getting it started that way.

    Is it still on for the 17th?

  24. picklingpeckham

    greetings from urban england! i have just discovered your book and i like the cut of your jib. i love the tone of it, which makes a refreshing change from the poncey toffs over here eulogising what amounts to a very expensive hobby with their condescending marketing and smug tone! its so good to hear someone who hasnt got a million quid at their disposal get real for a change, and see a kindred spirit with the pragmatism and faith to put seeds in ground you do not own, despite the potential for heartbreak. a true Leveller and you give hope to us all that things could be different. its so much more interesting… i guess i am an english approximation of you, only i’m just starting out with the urban farming, my speciality is urban foraging and preserving. i’m part of a community group who have just signed a 5 year lease on 2700sqm of derelict land in Peckham, a deprived area of London, where we are planning to grow food, using permaculture techniques. we are hoping to plant an orchard and a foraging walk leading to the local farmers market as well as veg and bees. maybe other livestock when we are established. i’ll be recommending your book to the group for inspiration. thankyou.

  25. ghosttownfarm

    hey england/picklingpeckham;
    i love your english accent! thanks for spreading the word about farm city–i’m looking for a british publisher, if you have any leads…
    good luck with your plot–have fun.

Leave a Reply

