Poster Give Away

When I was a wee girl, I had two posters on my bedroom wall: Michael Jackson in the Billy Jean video, and Rob Lowe in linen pants and a wife-beater tank top, oh so subtly showing off his 6-pack. These days I still find myself drawn to posters of rock shows and swine auctions and old victory garden propaganda. Imagine my joy when I went to the Urban Farm Store in Portland, Oregon and saw these new posters put out by Victory Garden of Tomorrow!

Because some friends and I run an urban feed store in Berkeley at the Biofuel Oasis, we ordered a bunch to sell along with the Nikki McClure and Miriam Stahl posters we currently sell.

So, this is a poster give away, you’re thinking: what do I have to do to “win” the above poster? Simply come up with the best name for our urban feed store at the Biofuel Oasis. We sell chicken, rabbit, and goat feed in a vintage gas station in South Berkeley. In addition to feed, we sell chicken feeders, founts, canning supplies, cheesemaking kits, supplements like kelp meal, oyster shells, grit, and Diatamaceous Earth.

We have a couple ideas for a feed store name, but nothing that we love:

City Farm Supplies at the Biofuel Oasis

The Farm Garage

Urban Feed and Supply

What are your ideas? Best one wins the poster, sent to your house.

56 responses to “Poster Give Away

  1. Howbout “New Reliance Supply Co.”?

  2. How about:
    Urth Feeds
    Feed and Filling Station
    Farm Feeds and Supply

    (That’s all I got. I’ve only had one cup of coffee)

  3. How about The Farm Fuel Stop?
    Urban Homestead Feed and Supply?

    I gotta admit that I think Justin’s ‘New Reliance’ is catchy. Sounds almost like an old wood stove brand.

    By the way, I go to the Urban Farm Store in Portland for all my organic fertilizers, like kelp meal and rock phosphate. Someday when I have chickens I’ll get my poultry supplies there too. I get to go there when my husband needs to go get beer brewing supplies from FH Steinbart, which is fortunately in the same general part of Portland. We usually hit Pine State Biscuits for breakfast when we go, which make the trip a triple header!

  4. Urban Oasis Biofuel and Feed
    Urban Oasis Biofuel and Farm Supply
    Berkeley Biofuel and Feed
    Berkeley Biofuel and Farm Supply

    I like the first one best. Since it incorporates the two words of your current name, it would still show up in search results if people are unaware of the update. Just a thought… I think I could use some additional coffee as well.

  5. Okay, getting a bit silly here ….

    Feed is good

    Beasts and Feasts

    Beasts’ Banquet

    Mall of the Wild

  6. Edge City Farm and Feed

  7. How about Urbane Grain?
    Polite purveyors of urban farm supplies…

  8. Berkeley Oasis Urban Farm Feed and Supply, I think I’ve seen the poster there before. It brings us to a kinder gentler place…

  9. “A chicken in every yard”…..too cool!
    How about “Urban Victory Farm Supply” at Biofuel Oasis, or “Urban Victory Farm & Feed”

  10. just one last idea…

    Urban Fuel & Forage

    and on that last one, it could be modified to…
    Nature’s Gas & Grub

  11. JAMM’N Biofuel Oasis and Urban Farmer Supply Station
    (JAMM’N is for the first names of Worker/Owner Operators:
    Margaret Farrow, Ace Anderson, Novella Carpenter, Melissa Hardy and Jennifer Radtke!) :)

  12. Ooh, I do like New Reliance and Urbane Grain mentioned earlier…but here are a few of mine:

    New Foragers Feed and Supply
    Peeps and Bleats Feed and Supply
    City Flock Farm Supply
    Metropolitan Farm and Feed Company

    This is fun! Sounds awesome.

    Gen

  13. “A Moveable Feast”
    The Bunny Ranch
    Urbane Profane
    or just for fun “Mama C’s Chicken and Stuff”

  14. That is welcome news. I had no idea I could what I need so close by. I need DE now and feed too. What feed store are you sourcing the feed from? I prefer Modesto Mills or Rivertown.

    Are you already open for business?

    My suggestions for a name:
    • Farm City Feed
    • Urban Oasis Feed and Farm

    Cheers,
    Maureen in Oakland

  15. State food and pet supply associated
    Western farm association and pet toys unlimited
    Animal protein unlimited
    BFO and bags united
    Half pint and toy train supplies
    Beans! Beans! Beans!
    24 hour pet food and leather belts galore!

    I think i need more coffee too!

  16. The Fodder Jockey

  17. Chick-fil-Up, like the chicken sandwich chain that you guys have too few of up in NorCal.

    Btw, our first 7 chicks are shipping out on Wednesday… So excited!

  18. I have to admit that I like Urbane Grain that Jessica suggested.
    I submit City Chicks Emporium-Feed and More.

  19. Feeds’R’Us

  20. The Pecking Order

  21. Berkley’s Farm to Table
    Urban Farm to Table
    Urban Farm Connection
    Grows on the Farm
    The Gathering Place
    Grow Food!

  22. A hundred years ago, such a store would have called itself

    Berkeley Feed and Fuel

    So that would be a simple, retro name.

  23. ‘Regeneration’ Urban fuel for all

  24. BioBarn Feed

  25. Robert Mendocino

    Berkeley Farm Supply (at BioFuel Oasis)
    I also like Farm City Supply (though, how do you feel about tying your book to your business so overtly?)
    And I love The Farm Garage (at BioFuel Oasis). It says urban farm without saying “urban farm” and it describes your place physically.
    If you aren’t going with the “at BFO” model, I also really like “Metropolitan Farm and Feed Co. because it’s a new timey twist on old timey.

  26. How about “City Chick Feed and Supply” or
    “Scratch N Stuff”

  27. Love the posters, love the names: Urban Farm Fuel and The Farm Garage.

    yay for you!

  28. Oh my, I had posters of the Jackson 5 and Donny Osmond! Great names everyone. You’re all much more imaginitive than me.

  29. Farm Feed and Fuel Frontier

    I like alliteration (can you tell?), and this makes it easy for people to apply nicknames…”Hey, I’m heading to the 4F, need anything?”

  30. Chicken.Feed (Bay Area, ‘n all)

  31. I really like Katrina’s entry! “City Chick Feed and Supply” or
    “Scratch N Stuff”

  32. How about:

    Feedin the Farm
    Feedin’ the Future

    Then again they might make better tag lines then names….

  33. REPLENISH
    Grains, Goods, and Fuel

    I really like Scratch N Stuff though………….

  34. Farm City Feed and Supply
    City Farm Supply and Feed

    Just keeping it simple and real. Loved your book!

  35. Cheep chic oasis

  36. Chickifeedia

  37. Chicken feed ETC

  38. I’ve been wanting to do a T shirt of this (w/an R. Crumb drawing?) but just don’t have the time; maybe it will appeal to your marvelous urban irreverence:

    ‘Hos With Hoes

  39. b: hos with hoes?!!! i am dying.
    my college roommate and i used to called each other whores, like, “hey whore, what are you doing tonight?” like with the n word, whores was reserved for our in-group.

  40. Berkeley’s Chicken Scratch and Horseless Carriage Feed

  41. “The Feeding Station”

  42. How about BioFeed?

  43. how abou tBrood Food?

  44. ooops typo.
    Brood Food

  45. Urban Feed Oasis
    The Farm Supply Oasis

    i like oasis in the title.

  46. Berkley Feed and Supply
    Berkley Ranch and Home
    Farm Kitchen
    Farm City- Ranch and Home
    Farm City Feed Store or City Farm Feed Store
    Fill ‘er Up Feed

  47. What the Cluck! feed & supplies

  48. This is the best comment thread! I keep coming back to check out all the cool entries….
    “What the Cluck!” rocks, and “Hos w/ Hoes” inspires me to get out there and really ‘hoe it up!’

  49. Home Grown Shoppe

    Urban General Store

  50. Fat Chics
    Fat Rabbits

  51. Berkley General Store

  52. Michael Thoma

    My idea is to focus on who BUYS your stuff. It seems like you support that backyard farmer – both urban and suburban. Farmers might be raising chickens, goats and/or rabbits. And canning and cheese-making. I think the latter is a self-sufficiency dimension.

    So maybe
    Urban Farmers Essentials.

  53. Biofuel Oasis and. . .

    Urban Livestock Sundries
    Urban Livestock Supply

    Urban Homestead Sundries
    Urban Homestead Central

    (the last is my favorite, and I think it also might best capture your goal)

Leave a Reply

