Farmstand: Friday, November 4

Before daylight savings comes along to ruin our lives, I’m going to have one last Pop-farm stand! No, don’t congratulate me yet: I still don’t have my conditional use permit from the city of Oakland as they are still dotting the “i”s and crossing the GhostTown Ts. But in the meantime, I guess it’s ok for me to sell a little veg.

It’s also my way of kicking off the Community Food Security Collation’s 15th annual conference which is being held in…Oakland! If you want to attend the conference, go here. It’s running November 5-8, but you can sign up for individual days. Please, conference attendees, feel free to come by the farm and hang out. I’ll build a fire in the cob oven and we can circle the wagons. But don’t expect a rager: I go to bed early these days, what with the growing baby and all…

Rain cancels!
When: November 4, 4pm-dark
Where: GT Farm, SW corner of 28th and MLK Way
What: Dino kale, salad greens, braising mix, last of the tomatoes, herbs, GT tshirts–all for sale
What else: Duck viewing

Hope to see you there, this will probably be the last one of the year….

9 responses to “Farmstand: Friday, November 4

  1. Joke from Amsterdam

    Hi Novella! Joke here from Amsterdam. (I know Riana, and also I met you at the Horticultural club in NYC with my mom when you were there for a book talk).

    Wanted to share two fun things with you:
    - I am pregnant too :) Congrats on your “special project” as friends keep calling mine, haha
    - I was reading… Martha stewart living i think? last (?) month, reading about a thanksgiving dinner in Oakland… and there you were, name dropped! What fun :) Bringing greens from GhostTown Farm. Fun!

    Love your blog (and Riana’s flickr). Keep up the good work.

  2. Hi Novella Yay! a pop up stand at last. :) I won’t be in town, so I can’t make it, but sending positive thoughts. WIsh I could snag one of the GT shirts!

  3. ghosttownfarm

    Christine: i’ll hold one for you! what’s your address?
    joke: hey lady–congrats!! that’s great news. hope you’re having fun with it. oh, i gotta get that issue of msl! my friend samin’s squash lasagna was the best thing i’ve eaten in awhile.

  4. Actually, Daylight Savings Time is ending. Winter is back to normal time.

  5. Wow! I get a big thrill driving Mission Blvd from Hayward to Fremont because there are places that I catch a glimpse of deer and wild turkeys from the road. There’s also several places that I see cows and horses grazing and I marvel @ the sight. Never in my wildest imagination did I ever think of a place like yours in Oakland! How can I help support you? I’ll even come to Oakland and put actual eyes on your farm if that’s an option. Oh, and congratulations on your pregnancy. Patt Rose

  6. Hopefully, I will see you at the Conference! Alas, I’m working Friday way our in the stix, so I won’t make the Farmstand. Take care or you and the little one.

  7. Thanks, Novella. I’m stoked to get my GTF t-shirt! Your Muscovy ducks were so well mannered. Nice to know there is a “quiet” duck.

  8. @Novella: I’m such a dork, I didn’t check back until now–just sent you an email. :)

  9. Hi Novella,
    I was looking up contact details to invite you to a National Community Gardens Gathering in Sydney (Australia), probably late October 2012. One of the days will be the Heaven and Earth Writers’ Festival. Please let me know if you would be interested in speaking once or twice at these events. I know there would be a great many people who would love to listen to you!
    I really enjoyed “Farm City”. My brother gave copies to the whole family!
    Best wishes for the festive season.
    Jane Mowbray

Leave a Reply

