Thanks Sis

There’s always something new to learn. Like, you can eat carrot greens (in moderation).

Here they are, frying with some bacon. I enjoyed them with some coconut oil/goat milk/whole wheat flour waffles that my sister, Riana, left before she left, going back to France. I won’t lie, the day she left, I cried like a baby. Partially because I have a baby. My sister was a whirlwind during the week she was here, helping me with baby Francis. She reorganized the baby clothes, figured out what was making all those cupboard moths in my kitchen (a bag of Hoody’s peanuts), made me breakfast, and took care of the baby ducklings (photos coming soon).

Then there was more: When her friend Dean arrived, they chainsawed (thank you Oakland Tool Lending library) down that horrible feral plum tree, found me a new couch and kitchen table, scrounged and fixed four dining room chairs, cleaned my nasty turquoise kitchen chairs, and much much more. It was humbling and contagious. I even rearranged my kitchen cupboards. I feel like a new woman.

She also taught me some new tricks, like using duck eggs to make pound cake, trim baby fingernails, and–eating carrot greens. They taste like slightly bitter carrots. She sautees hers with maple syrup. The flavor will always remind me of my sister and her kindness and love. I’ll never forget it.

11 responses to “Thanks Sis

  1. MotherLodeBeth

    I love carrot greens stir fried and even dehydrated so that I can use them in seasoning soups. Am so glad your sister was there and what great memories you two made.

  2. Hooray for sisters! Your story reminded me of how my sister came through like a whirling devish when both my babies were born, cooking, cleaning, and spreading the love. She filled my freezer and helped out so much – did you know you can freeze pancakes? My sister did and stocked us up!

    p.s. I usually use carrot greens for stock, but I’ve heard you can use them in place of parsley.

  3. Your sister AND you are both so awesome.

  4. Your sister is a handy as you are.

  5. Moderation is the key word with carrot greens. They’re part of the Umbelliferae family which includes carrots and parsley and queen annes lace, but also hemlock, as in poison hemlock and water hemlock. Their greens contain alkaloids, which in enough concentration, will stop your heart. So if you’re going to eat carrot greens, do it only every once in awhile.

    Better, if you want to eat cheap greens, try radish instead.

  6. I always knew you could eat them but had no idea how to prepare them. We’ll have to try them when we get carrot greens. For some reason our carrots are all “topless” right now. Makes it kind of hard to find them right now.

  7. lovely!

  8. Perhaps wait until you stop breast feeding before indulging in carrot greens. Congrats on the baby!

  9. I’m glad your sister was so wonderfully there for you and your family!

  10. Did you know that wild carrot seeds (daucus carota, “Queen Anne’s Lace” were traditionally used as birth control?
    A baby and a farm is really two round-the-clock careers. Your sister sounds as amazing as you are.

  11. Best way to trim baby fingernails is to do it when they are asleep in deep sleep. I wish I had more help when my child was little. Take it while you can get it! I like blue agave and some apple cider vinegar on minced carrot tops, it helps break down the tough parts and then from there I toss in salad, soup top, or sprinkle on roared potatoes….yum!

Leave a Reply

