Summer Calendar of Events

Hiya! So in the interest of getting organized and getting the word out, here’s a list of events at Ghost Town Farm this summer and into fall. Note that I will have a pumpkin patch this year–probably about 30 pumpkins for kids (and adults) to harvest for Halloween. I’ll also continue to have honey extraction demos. I might do a class or two in the future–let me know what you’d like to learn (chickens? cheesemaking? jam-making? canning tomatoes?)!

July 5: Farm Stand. Fresh produce for sale! Honey extraction demo. 5pm-7pm
July 6: Open farm day. Tours on the hour (10:15, 11:15, 12:15), mulberry tasting, produce for sale! 10am-1pm

August 2: Farm Stand. Fresh produce for sale! 5pm-7pm

September 28: Open farm day. Tours (10:15, 11:15, 12:15), fresh produce for sale! 10am-1pm

October 4: Pumpkin patch and farm stand. Fresh produce for sale! Honey extraction demo. 4pm-6pm
October 5: Pumpkin patch and open farm day. Tours (10:15, 11:15, 12:15). Fresh produce for sale, pick a pumpkin for Halloween. 10am-1pm

Where: All events will be held at 28th street and Martin Luther King Jr Way, Oakland

8 responses to “Summer Calendar of Events

  1. you asked what people are interested in, so i’m replying that canning tomatoes sounds good. I have a few large plants in the yard, but mostly cherry tomatoes (I was thinking; for the kids). Can I can those?
    i’m finally throwing some full size tomato starts into the ground. hope it’s not too late.

  2. Hi! My boyfriend and I live in Boston. We keep bees and brew beer, and we’re growing as much food as we can fit on our fire escape (not enough!). Our plan is to move to Oakland in a few years, after I finish my masters in Gastronomy. Last week he brought home a copy of your book for me, and I couldn’t put it down. It’s so wonderful and comforting to read such a personable account of someone doing the things I’m dreaming about! I really admire your work, and I’m so thankful to have come across your book!

  3. hi jamie;
    cherry tomatoes are probably better fresh, they have so many seeds! but i slow roasted them one year and froze the resultant yumness and they were incredible. took forever, though. you should be fine with the tomatoes in the ground–they often produce into november around here….

  4. jamie: cherry tomatoes make great tomato jam–skins, seeds, and all. There are a couple different recipes at the Food in Jars website. They also explain how to can the jam.

  5. Novella, I just finished reading Farm Ctiy. I happened upon your book at a used book store…I had no idea how my life would change. Manicured lawns are coming out and being replaced by plants and trees that we can eat from. Rabbits are being bought and hutches are being built. All in a California subdivision….not sure what the neighbors will think but a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do! Although I hated to see the book end I was delighted to find this blog. While reading I never thought to see if you were still in Oakland. So, here’s to a future field trip to admire your hard work. Thanks for the inspiration.

  6. I’m currently in a concrete covered neighborhood (TenderNob in SF) and looked up your hood on Google Maps Street View. I LOVE your garden! I have a couple small Herb pots that keep trying to die on me, which is rather annoying because I never had this problem when I was growing out of pots in New Orleans or Michigan! When I end up with a yard again I will be planting a real garden and hope to visit you in the next few weeks! (Of course I missed your Aug farm sale by two days.)

    You also make me miss Detroit with the descriptions of your neighborhood.

  7. These events sound great! I wish I lived there to attend them!

  8. Heather,
    yay! Me too. Here inSanta Rosa , where are you?
    cheers, Jamie

Leave a Reply

