Hand-Pollination


I took Billy and our friend Ingrid up to Napa today and dropped them off on the side of the road…they’re going on a bike trip! They’re headed 130 miles north to Mendocino, where Ingrid will stay to work on Live Power, a wonderful biodynamic farm about which I’m writing a magazine piece. But for the next two days, I’ll be all alone. You know what that means…I’ll finally have time to hand-pollinate all my fruit trees. What with the lack of bees (see the article I wrote in Salon.com about losing my bees), I worry about fruit set. So the other night I bought a paint-brush and plan to play bee all weekend. First I’m going to get the peaches…then the apples…then the plums…and then…

Leave a Reply

