Day 30

31 Jul

I walked out the door today, headed for work, with a large bag, filled with food, of course. I had some roasted beets with basil and mint and sliced Armenian cucs. A rabbit soup with kale and onions. A jar of honey. Three sprigs of mint (for tea for later). A large apple. A jug of sangria for a post-work barbeque (my homemade wine is really sweet–sangria and mulled are probably the only way I’m going to drink it). It’s both a liberating feeling–I haven’t spent money on food in one month, I know the food I’m eating is safe and healthy, I grew it myself! And it’s a little claustrophobic at the same time–hmm, before I leave for any destination, I have to think about where I’ll get my next meal. When I’m driving truck, I’ll bring a jar of honey, for example: that’s my energy drink. I plan to keep the good and discard the bad when July ends.

2 Responses to “Day 30”

  1. Riana July 31, 2007 at 3:54 pm #

    http://www.eosvintage.com/novella.html

    These people need to give you some wine!

    Tomorrow: cheese and coffee!!!!

  2. Rachel August 1, 2007 at 4:02 am #

    I’ve just found your blog after reading your article on Salon. Looking forward to browsing your writing, and I’m very impressed by your processing of the ducks. I’m a dedicated omnivore, but I haven’t helped process meat from slaughter to table since I was a little girl (about 27 years ago).

Leave a Reply

