There and Back Again


The best thanksgiving gift of all: pulling up to our house last night!
After 24 days of almost continuous driving, socializing with friends and family, and really trying to find the real food culture of America, I’m thankful to be back in my own house, where as my father says, I can fart between my own sheets.
Our housesitter did a wonderful job, the animals are all healthy and fat, the garden is lush with lettuce and greens, even tomatoes still. But it froze last night, so another frost and they’ll be finished. The turkeys are huge!
Over the next few days, I’ll post about things we saw and did on the trip. This is a photo of a truly great taco cart in Tucson, Arizona. The house specialty was goat tacos. Mercy.
What did I eat for Thanksgiving? A hotdog from Circle K in the Southern California desert.

5 responses to “There and Back Again

  1. goat sounds soooo good! can’t wait to hear all the stories! welcome home.

  2. Welcome back!

    Dangit. I checked the temp online around 11pm and it said 43. When you posted about having frost (I live in Berkeley), I went out to check the garden and, sure enough, some frost damage on the potatoes and other tender-leaved plants.

    Last January was devastating to my yard so I bought some frost cloth but I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me trying to create tents for all the citrus trees… I feel out of my depth.

  3. Welcome home! What a wonderful thing to be thankful for!

  4. Welcome back, Novella!

  5. I hope that your Circle K Thanksgiving didn’t make you fart too much between your own sheets!

    Sorry to hear about the frost. I really miss the Bay Area weather. I am fighting winter in Tennessee trying to blanch the last cardoons of the season.

Leave a Reply

