Aged goat cheese

14 Aug

You’d think I wouldn’t have enough milk to make cheese. But the little bit I get each day from Bebe adds up and then I have to make something. I’ll toss a tablespoon of yogurt into a quart of milk, warm it up–and voila! a quart of yogurt.

Or, the other day, my postal carrier told me about something called cajeta. He often drops off the mail and then we talk about food–spit-roasted rabbits, steamed pumpkin drizzled with honey and mashed up with goat milk. Cajeta was goat milk slowly cooked with sugar until it became a caramel-y goo. The way he was drooling, I knew it had to be good. I had two cups of milk, so I decided to go for it. I had to stir the milk and sugar for an hour. Luckily, Bill was in an expansive mood so we talked and I stirred. The result was a gloppy goo–dulce de leche, great straight out of the jar.

I also made an order through Caprine Supply. Got a hobble, udder wipes, an iodine dip, and cheese molds. I tried making my own out of plastic containers drilled with holes, but they kind of sucked. Armed with these new molds, I hoarded milk and made cheese.

The fresh, triangular stuff turned out nicely. Creamy and light.

Because I had hopes to make aged cheese, I ordered some penicillin culture too. After the cheese firmed up, I started spritzing it with the white mold culture. It formed a rind after a few days left out (but covered to prevent flies).

After 10 days, Bill and I had a tasting. I secretly hoped it would taste like boucheron. Um, no. It wasn’t creamy in the middle, just firm. It kind of reminded me of the cheeses I tried in Portugal. Sturdy, nothing fancy. Definitely edible.

6 Responses to “Aged goat cheese”

  1. Riana August 14, 2008 at 8:03 pm #

    dulce de leche and goats cheese, sounds like heaven to me! I would eat them together even with figs and rosemary.

  2. Off Grid Ebert August 15, 2008 at 4:14 am #

    I made my own cheese for the first time this week too! I used unpasturized cow mil that we got from a local farmer co-op and some rennet tablets I ordered on Amazon. Within an hour after starting I had half-a-pound of fresh mozzarella. It’s not something I’d want to do every day, but if you’re milking over a gallon a day that’s going to be more than a family of three can drink. Make cheese and feed the whey to the chickens and pigs!

  3. Inez August 17, 2008 at 4:12 am #

    Cajeta is essentially the exact same thing as dulce de leche, but by definition cajeta is goats milk or a mixture of goat/cows milk, whereas dulce is cows milk only. Cajeta itself seems to be a Mexican centric food and word, and implying it’s dulce or vice versa is randomly met with scorn.

    In high school, an Argentinian exchange student was really offended when I asked her if she was eating cajeta with her apples. I guess it’s the food equivalent to asking her if she was Mexican? People get oddly offended if you confuse the two, I have no idea why.

    When I moved to south Texas, my local grocery store carried their own brand of cajeta ice cream and it was amazing.

    Sorry for the random drive-by comment. To make up for it, here is a minirecipe:

    Lightly fry fresh flour tortillas in oil until golden brown and lightly puffy, set into bowls/small colander to drain lightly. Once excess oil drips off, sprinkle liberally with cinnamon and sugar or toss in a bag if you love both. After being coated, scoop vanilla bean ice cream into the middle and liberally drizzle cajeta [or dulce] over top.

    The process of frying to bowls takes a few seconds, so the combo of warm cinnamon tortilla + ice cream + cajeta/dulce [bonus points for it being hot and fresh] = aaaamaaaaaaazing.

  4. samin August 18, 2008 at 6:27 am #

    i lurve cajeta! and you are totes my hero for making successful cheese. yowza! you are out of control, friend.

  5. Rebekah August 27, 2008 at 5:27 pm #

    Hi – I work at Growing Home (you have us in your links list) and tracked back to your site from some hits we’ve been getting. What a great blog you have! And thanks so much for linking to us. –Rebekah

  6. patrick September 4, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    hey darling. for the boucheron-like results i think you need to start with fresh milk warm from the teat. it’s the lactic action that happens with the live warm cultures. at least that is the impression I got. we went to a workshop led by a vermont cheesemaker who makes a cowsmilk lactic cheese that is like a boucheron– dry outside, creamy middle, really amazing. anyway, it looks like your foray into aged cheese was a success. i haven’t got there yet but have gotten pretty good at feta. xo – patrick

Leave a Reply

