Goat estrus

Ok. Here’s the story. About 10 days ago, I was puttering around the house–feeding the rabbits, washing the dishes, putting grain in Bebe’s milk stand so I could milk her–when I heard Bebe yelling. I ran downstairs because this was an odd sound. I thought maybe the turkey had attacked her. At the gate, Bebe lunged. Bilbo seemed especially concerned. So I let them out, and Bebe raced up and down the stairs like a crazy goat. Then, I hate to report: Bilbo mounted her, made this unbelievably clownish face and stuck his tongue out like the devil. Sick. It didn’t last long. Meanwhile, Orla was making horrible bleating noises. This went on all day, and then for a few more days. My poor neighbors. Bilbo is just so in love.

Most dairy goats go into estrus at the end of summer through early winter, every 18-21 days. If they’re bred, they’ll carry for 5 months and give birth in the spring. With Dwarf Nigerians like Bebe, they actually can breed all year ’round. This most recent cycle must have been her first since having Orla. I’m hoping to breed her in December for a May arrival of babies. So it’ll be a little loud around here every three weeks, I guess.

A few days after all this noise, I was down in the chicken house trying to convince the new chickens to roost there when I heard some goat noises again. I looked up on the stairs and the goats were looking West. Our neighbor two doors down, a young Vietnamese mom, was yelling, “Baaahhh,” and laughing her ass off. The goats returned her call. Neither the goats nor the lady knew I could see them–so I waited in the henhouse until they were done talking. Have I mentioned how much I love my neighborhood?

4 responses to “Goat estrus

  1. hil-ar-i-ous!

  2. I love your goats and I am glad your neighbors love them too, Novella! I’m glad Bilbo is gettin’ some. :)

  3. how did you choose which breed and which breeder to go with? i am living vicariously through your educational and entertaining blog. my landlady lives upstairs and would freak if i tried to keep chickens in the driveway, but i daydream about my own little rowhouse with chickens and angora bunnies… i’ve added goats to the fantasy thanks to you. :)

  4. Novella Carpenter

    aw, alia, that’s sweet! i chose dwarf nigerians because they are small and relatively quiet–a plus for urban farming. my friend jim keeps oberhaslis, but he has more space than me. i stumpbled upon nigerians when someone told me they are actually good milkers, recognized by the dairy goat association. i found a lovely family who breds their goats and keeps the goats registered and healthy by keeping the flock closed.

Leave a Reply

