Bitch is Back

Hello Everyone!

Had such a nice summer off, but since it’s September 1, I figured I should decide: to blog or not to blog?

After a lot of discussion with friends and advisers, and bathtub sessions where I weighed the evil internet on one hand and the brilliance of connectivity on the other, I’ve decided to return. I think I’ll stop mentioning illegal things that I’ve been up to (so many) what with the man watching and all. So expect a bit tamer blog, ok?

I’ll catch up on what’s been going on at the farm this summer, slowly trickling it out over the next few weeks. In the meantime, I wanted to give a heads up for a couple of things:
-Classes have resumed at the Biofuel Oasis, my place of work. Because I wanted a break, I’m not teaching any classes, but we’ve replaced me with some all-stars (and probably better teachers than me) like Alexis from Soul Food Farms teaching a chicken class, Esperanza teaching rabbits, and Kitty teaching goats. Sign up now at the Biofuel Oasis website.

-My new book is coming out December 27 (hmm, right around the baby coming)! Willow Rosenthal and I have been slaving on this giant how-to book for the past three years or something. It’s called The Essential Urban Farmer. It’s got everything a budding or experienced urban farmer might want to know about growing veggies and fruit, securing land, and raising livestock in the city.

-Farm Stand Open in October…Maybe. We’ll see. But I’m hoping to finally get my use permit and get back to the once a month farm stand featuring greens and honey, carrots and apples. I’m also excited that my dear dear friend L is back in town after a long hiatus in dusty Texas, and we are scheming to sell cut flowers as well as all the glorious veg.

Finally, big news. Are you sitting down? I’m pregnant! Yup, that’s what happens when I take a break. Baby is due on Christmas. Billy and I are so excited. Human livestock. Wait, is that illegal?

That’s it for now, more soon–I gotta re-enter slowly….

86 responses to “Bitch is Back

  1. Good to have you back! Can’t wait to meet the little one!

    xo,

    Y.

  2. Congrats! That’s exciting (and probably a little terrifying) news!

  3. Congratulations! I’m so thrilled for you guys!

  4. Jessica Flemming

    Congratulations! Very exciting and I wish it had happened about 4 years before I had mine so I could read your book on raising a child. I think it would be much more interesting to me than all the other parenting books out there. Best of luck!

  5. Hooray for Ghost Town Babies!

    Congratulations!

  6. Oh my gosh! That’s wonderful. Congratulations!

  7. I’m so glad you decided to come back to blogging, I’ve really missed hearing what you are up to. Congrats on the book and the baby, you are taking care of business on all fronts!

  8. So glad to see you’re back to blogging! I need more farm on my internet.
    Congratulations on the new combination of genetic materials. What an accomplished year you’re having! Hope all goes well with your pregnancy and birth. I look forward to seeing the book. :)

  9. MotherLodeBeth

    OMGosh I am so very very happy for you and VERY happy you took a much needed break. Hope the city etc treats you better!!!

  10. Glad you’re back! Congrats on the kiddo! That’s going to be so much fun!

  11. Thank you for announcing the baby here, because when I read that your book was coming out with the baby in December, I thought, wait! when did I miss that announcement?!? Congratulations! And welcome back.

  12. Super congratulations! I’m so glad you decided to come back.

  13. Glad to hear your voice again! Congratulations on the little Peanut! Cheers!!!

  14. Novella Junior!!!!!!! Congrats (and on everything else, too)

  15. OH Novella congratulations! :) And I cannot wait to read your book!

  16. Joke from Amsterdam

    oooooh a baby AND a book!! Two things to look forward to, congratulations :)

  17. You are such an inspiration. Thanks so much for your candid sharing of life. Sorry you have to edit it due to the ‘man watching’.
    I, too, am an urban, well, suburban, gardener and love reading about your oh so clever use of space.
    I have 2 teenage boys and I have to say, having children stretched me in ways I NEVER would have gone on my own.
    Many blessings to you and your baby as you travel these paths.

  18. Good to hear an update from you, Novella. Glad you decided to keep on with the blog. Congrats on all the things coming to fruition.

  19. SO glad you’re back! And congrats on the the Novellette!! Sounds like the summer’s been fun – fill us in when you get the chance.

  20. Wahoo! Welcome back (we missed you) and CONGRATULATIONS!!

  21. Glad you are back! Sounds like you have a busy and exciting time ahead of you. Make sure you dial back when you need to and take care of yourself.

  22. So awesome!!! Congratulations! I can’t wait to read more! I’ve been looking up more about bees and beekeeping all because of you! Now if I could just get approved for it on a military post!

  23. !Felicidades Novella and Billy! We just added Simon to our flock 7 weeks ago. Prepare to have your world turned upside down…

  24. So good to have you back Novella!
    Congrats on book & baby!

  25. Congrats to you both! That’s awesome news!

  26. Welcome back! And congratulations!!! I imagine you’ll find being a Mom an amazing experience, and of course sometimes overwhelming.

    Looking forward to reading whatever you choose to write.

  27. MotherLodeBeth

    Maybe we should do a baby shower where items you need can be given to the new baby since you have enriched so many of our lives. What a blessed child to have such hands on parents.

  28. Congratulations! And, welcome back! The NYTimes T Magazine blog mentioned you and Jake Gyllenhaal in the same sentence, in its post on the Chez Panisse 40th birthday bash. Pretty fancy company to be keeping! Way to go Novella! Can’t wait for your next book.

  29. You’re having a baby? I’m so happy for you. Good on you!

  30. SO HAPPY for you! I can’t wait to hear all about baby in your blog and I will pre-order your book. Glad you are back! :)

  31. Hallo, I´m from Vienna/Austria – no, not Australia – we don´t have kangaroo´s, we have Sachertorte or Mozartkugeln or Wiener Schnitzel ;)))
    Last week I bought your book Farm City and now I´m sitting in front of my computer and see your garden with google maps :) I like your book very much and I definitely will read the next one.
    So, best wishes for you and your baby and Bill!

  32. I just wanted to let you know that, even though I have never met you in person, I squealed with delight at the news of a) returning to blogging and b) a baby!!!, that, had anyone been watching me, they might have assumed that you were my sister or BFF or something. Great news all around!!!

  33. Amy (Groome) Reese

    Congratulations Novella! Owen and I are expecting our 2nd right about that time, too, in January!

  34. SOOOO glad you are back! That is wonderful news about the baby! And I can’t wait for the new book. All good news!

  35. Congratulations on the wonderful news! So glad to have you back on tar interwubs, I cant wait to buy the new book!

  36. Congratulations! You are about to embark on the best adventure yet :) I ordered Farm City on Amazon and it arrived Friday night. I didn’t go to bed last night until I finished it! Truly inspiring, and I can’t wait to get your next book. So happy to have found your blog so I can catch up on what’s been going on.
    Cheers, Andrea

  37. Alexandra Danieli

    Congratulations!! You might think you’ll never have time for anything again but my bees are still alive and my baby is 11 months old. Good luck with everything :)

  38. Congratulations for your baby
    I,m awaiting your new book impatiently, I really enjoyed the first one

  39. Congratulations! I can’t wait to read your new book!

  40. Cindy Schiffgens

    I missed you – So glad you’re back. How exciting, a new baby and a new book! YAY!
    I am sorry you have to be careful about what you say. You’ll have to find another way to stick it to the man.

  41. That is such wonderful news, about your baby coming and that you are going to continue the blog. As many have already written, I too have missed your posts and reading about your adventures across the bay. Congratulations to you and Billy!

  42. So glad you are back! Had supper with Brooke and Dan from, Bad Seed farm, here in KC Mo tonight. They had not heard about all of the bad business with the man, and I am glad to be able to give them a positive update next time I see them. You are an inspiration.

  43. Yayayayay ! Glad you are back ! Excited for you starting another new adventure, motherhood is full of new things. Happy to hear you have another book coming out. Thank you for sharing your life with us, via your blog.

  44. Congratulations & welcome back!

  45. Congratulations! I just read your book and loved it. You’re a wonderful writer. I just have a large garden and half-dozen egg-laying hens yet I could so relate to the occasional thoughts expressed in your book about whether you’ve gone nuts or not. Also especially enjoyed the literature and history you brought in. Look forward to following your blog.

  46. Fabulous to have you back, and with such great news — congratulations!
    As my garden failed to find any heat this summer, I often thought of you and your plan to have your garden “take the summer off” (as opposed to the back-east winter). I wonder if you’d let us know how you think it’s working out, as right now it seems like a genius idea to me.

  47. No fer-eaking way! Congratulations to you and Billy.
    Good job, taking the summer off. I know there is more to life than blogging, but I’m glad you’re back.
    A human baby – wow! That realy impresses me. Chickens are all the responsibility I can handle. :)

  48. Came across old bookmark, failed to find you until I tried good old wikipedia. Descartes: I’m in wikipedia, therefore I am.

    No summer garden -> no tomatoes. Greenhouse?

  49. This has to be one interesting being in the making!
    You know life will change forever don’t you?
    Enjoy, be well and we will need pictures.

  50. Yay!! Best wishes to you and Billy! So happy that you are back! We’ve missed you!

  51. Yay!! And All Right!! Congrats to you, it couldn’t have happened to a better outlaw couple. xox

  52. I’m so glad you’re back! Congrats to you and Billy!!

  53. So glad that you are back!
    Congratulations on your pregnancy.
    Sending my best from Toronto

  54. Great news on baby! I find farming and babies are a perfect match. They both become the complete loves of your life, drive you bonkers, take up more time than you have and make you feel like you’re doing the most important thing in the world – oh, and all while being blissed right out and freaked right out all at the same time.

  55. Good to have you back on line. Congratulations on the baby news. He/she is in for a fun ride!

  56. Whoo, I know what you mean about weighing the evils of internet against the awesomeness of connecting with cool people. I keep returning, too.

    Congrats about the baby, how exciting!

  57. Hooray! Very happy for your family regarding the baby news, and very happy for me that you’ll have another book out for me to read. Congrats on both!

  58. Congratulations – on both the book and the sprout. I’ve missed the blog and it’s good to know you used your time well while you were away. :) BTW, you were the inspiration for my acquisition of illegal backyard chickens. Thanks for that, I love having them.

  59. Hi Novella, My bookclub is reading your book for our September selection. I was reluctant because I knew that there would be slaughtering involved and I am a weenie that way. BUT! I have been reading it over the past 3 days and LOVING it! Longing for a veggie garden of my own (last one I had was in the Hilltop areaof Tacoma). Alas, no empty space available near me here in SF. Congrats on a great book and the baby!! Best – Jennifer Joy

  60. have read your book and followed your blog. am gratefull that you have chosen to continuing your blogging and are publishing a new book. you are an important voice in the movement to self sufficiency. with gratitude, alan

  61. I just read Farm City and I’m stoked to be able to keep up with your adventures here! And congratulations!

  62. Congratulations on the baby! I was confused when I read that the book would be out at the same time the baby would arrive. I thought, “Jesus?” I am glad you cleared it up a few sentences later. LOL. Farm City was a marvelous book. The next will be just as fantistic, I am sure. Life will change with the baby’s arrival. It takes adjusting, but soon you will wonder how you ever lived before baby.

  63. Welcome back and Congrats! Wish I could take the Rabbit class – being on the east coast would make that a challenge. =/

  64. My sister just gave me a copy of Farm City and I’m enjoying it immensely, given the fact that I grew up in Berkeley and know your surroundings well. I just saw these articles and would love to hear what you think about Oakland’s pending ordinance:
    1) http://www.theatlantic.com/life/archive/2011/09/the-locavore-movements-mistake-deregulating-animal-slaughter/244897/

    2) http://eatingplantsdotorg.wordpress.com/2011/08/29/eat-local-kill-local-the-backyard-slaughter/
    I wish you the best with your pregnancy.

    Aimee

  65. Novella, I am sooo excited for you and Bill, congratulations on your soon-to-be-here little one! And I can’t wait for your new book to arrive as well. I’m glad you decided to come back ‘online’, I’ve missed hearing your ‘voice’.

    Lisa H., Rockridge

  66. So glad that you came back to the blog-i had only been reading for a few months when you stopped. Happy to hear about the little one on the way-great news! Can’t wait to read the new book. Congrats to you both!

  67. You sound SO much happier than a few months ago! Glad the summer break did you well and that you’re back. Hope all goes well with the rest of your pregnancy and the birth. Have fun being a mom – you’ll love it!

  68. hey, you are back. i just realized it. :) hope you had a great summer and regained some balance once again. here in iowa we are cheering for you and all of the wonderfulness you bring to your community. looking forward to reading you once again.

    keep your hands in the dirt!!

    Terry Lillie

  69. Patty Peterson

    Oh! I am SO glad you are back… take your time with re-entry. We can wait. Like you, I recognize that living in the Bay Area means four season growing, but also four season work. I’m still trying to decide which season to skip… I’m thinking spring. I can always grow peas in the fall, ya know? And my asparagus will just appear… I don’t have to do a thing… except walk outside with a sharp knife! Oh, but what about the strawberries?

  70. Am so very glad to see you back here. Your voice has been missed.

    Congrats on the new book and the wee one that is about to rock your world!

  71. being ever so patient waiting for the next post.

    congrats on baby.

  72. Yay! Congratulations on your pregnancy, the return to blogging and the new book…whew! You’ve been a very busy girl!
    Looking forward to the new book…and passing it on to my sister who is trying to raise chickens in the city.
    Wishing you continued success and love!

  73. I’m so happy to have found your blog. About me…we have a small sustainable living farm which includes 2 goats (for milk, cheese and yogurt), 29 chickens (for eggs and…chicken) and a family garden (for canning fruit and vegetables). I’m going to school and my major is Criminal Justice and the Law with an emphasis on Forensic Psychology. I can’t wait to go back through your older posts and I’m looking forward to the new. Congratulations on your new baby! That’s great! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  74. Congratulations, Novella! On both your upcoming births! Hope you’re feeling well and hope I get to narrate the next book.

  75. Long time lurker, first time commenter. Just wanted to say congratulations on your pregnancy (!!!) and that I’m so glad you returned to blogging. Really enjoy reading about your urban farming adventures and your fantastic sense of humor. Can’t wait to read your next book. Take care!

  76. Welcome back and congratulations! I loved your first book and am excited to read the next one.

  77. TRIPLE THE GREAT NEWS!! You’re writing again!! You have a NEW BOOK!!! AND YOU’RE PREGNANT! I am so happy for you, many congrats!!!

  78. congrats on both baby and book! it’s good to lay low sometimes and go dark…can’t wait for the book and baby pics…happy gardening

  79. Congratulations! Now Amaya will have a cousin to play with.

  80. Great to have you back on the Blogosphere!

  81. soarswitheagles

    Soooooo glad to see you back and with such exciting news (Book and Baby!)! Glad you decided to keep up the blog. Good luck with your new arrival… it’ll be here before you know it.

  82. Ditto everything above….. with a big grin ;) Being greedy, I have to mention that, with all that time you’ll have in the rocking chair, nursing, you could…um… maybe dictate some reminiscences about… say, your dad?? Anticipating that book, I can’t wait for my Xmas presents – new gardening book, baby pix, and blog! TIA You are so generous! ;)

  83. Oh, forgot to say that the documentary “Urban Root” is out now – about city farming in … Detroit!! I mentioned it to you in Seattle, and sensed a teeny sceptism about greenery in such desolation…. now we can see how it is going…. with your inspiration (ok, among others :)

    Again, THANKS for everything.. especially the balls to be the real inimitable you :)

  84. Congratulations to you and Bill. The greatest adventure of a lifetime.

  85. Congratulations! Cannot wait to read about the new adventures of baby raising on the farm!

    ps my son was born on 25 Dec as well!

Leave a Reply

