One in, one out

excuse the brevity of this post: I’m recovering from giving birth. Believe me, I look at my goat Bebe with new respect; birth ain’t easy. We are the proud parents of a beautiful baby girl. She’s healthy and happy and loves to eat.

So having a baby around is making me realize I need to pare down my goat herd. Namely I need to find a new home for Ginger. Let me know if you’re interested in buying her–$100–she’d make a great grazer or pet. She’s two years old and had twins last year. She’s not a great milker but is beautiful. Email me with questions and to see photos. Serious inquiries only, from people with goat experience only.

43 responses to “One in, one out

  1. Congratulations!

  2. Comgratulations on your baby girl! Amazing how a tiny baby changes EVERYTHING isn’t it?!

  3. Congratulations – wonderful news!

  4. Congratulations Novella! I’ve been wondering when your little one would arrive, and am so happy to hear that you are all doing well!

  5. Congratulations! I love new babies! They smell so nice- even their poop smells like apricots. :)

  6. “Email me with questions and to see photos. Serious inquiries only, from people with goat experience only.”

    I’d say I qualify. And this IS a serious inquiry!

    DETAILS DETAILS DETAILS!!! You’ve obviously birthed one too many goatlings and don’t have any experience communicating about human kids. With a goatling, it’s either a doeling or a buckling, heathy or not, always cute, and looking for a new home. With YOU’RE kid we need a little more info. I believe the generally accepted details would not only include her sex, but date of birth, weight, length, NAME AND PHOTO(S).

    I understand the need to keep your private and public life separate. But at least give us more than “It’s a girl”.

    *HUGS* On a serious note, I’m very excited for you and hope you’re as happy and healthy as she is. I’m sure she already has Billy wrapped around her little finger. I imagine her in overalls for her first public photo. Let those of us who are close by know if you need anything, be it a hot home cooked meal or a batch of home made ice cream. *BIG HUGS*

  7. Congratulations and best wishes!

  8. Yay! It does change everything doesn’t it! Many blessings for the future.

  9. Glad to hear your news. We always hold our breath…..and then we let out a whoop of joy. Here’s whooping for the three of you! (and any family hovering close by)

  10. *HUGS* welcome, little one!

  11. Congratulations on your baby girl! Happy healing!

  12. Congratulations!!!! I’m so happy for you guys! I look forward to meeting her.

  13. Congrats! May you be blessed as you start the next great adventure!

  14. Joy to you and your family! I’m so happy for you all!

  15. MotherLodeBeth

    How exciting to have a baby girl. Am so happy for you.

  16. congratulations, oatmeal stout beer is good for nursing moms, take lots of pictures as this will go so much faster than you can imagine :)

  17. MotherLodeBeth

    Novella if someone wanted to send a baby gift what would you use?

  18. Congratulations on your new addition, and on getting through it.

  19. How lovely – congratulations!

  20. How wonderful! Congratulations to you both!

    Lisa in Rockridge

  21. Congratulations!! I’m glad everyone is okay. Enjoy your family!!!

  22. Linda Zoldoske

    Congratulations! All my best wishes for all!

  23. Congratulations dear! I’ve been thinking about you as the year drew to a close. I am delighted that all went well and that your daughter is healthy and hungry! As is should be for an Urban Farmer’s daughter. :D

  24. Yolanda at Kosodate Farm

    Yay! Congrats Novella and Billy! We can’t wait to meet her. Welcome to the world of Kosodate!

    And, I love the new book!

  25. Congratulations to you and your family, Novella!! So glad to hear you are all doing well. And … Happy New Year!

  26. Congratulations on your baby girl. You are a wonderful person and she is lucky that you are her mother. Blessings to you all. Farming will be all the more meaningful now that you have a little person to share it with.

  27. Congratulations on your new baby girl! Looking forward to hearing about your new adventures!

  28. Congratulations on the birth of your daughter! Three cheers for healthy, happy, and well-fed babies! May everything continue to go smoothly for you as you settle into this new routine and life stage.

  29. congrats lady! you are on the road to one heck of a tough, yet oh so rewarding journey. can’t wait to meet the munchkin.

  30. Congrats mama!

  31. Congratulations! Hope you are all able to get some sleep. Becoming a parent is kinda intense, right? But it’s filled with so much love and tenderness. Hope you’re enjoying her.

  32. Hi, my name is Heather! Please email me when you can, I have a question about your blog!

    HeatherVonSJ[at]gmail[dot]com

  33. YeeeHaw!! Congrats and best wishes.

  34. man time flies- congratulations on your new farm hand!

  35. Congratulations! Name? I do hope we get other stats and pictures. I love looking at baby pictures.

  36. Congratulations on your baby girl, Novella! We loved Farm City, and are glad to have the chance to keep up with your urban farm. :)

  37. Novella- congratulations on the birth of your daughter! We wish you, Billy, and the baby all good things in the new year. Sharing the growing and harvesting of food with our kids is one the things the great joys in my life. They are now five and seven, but have been participating since they were old enough to dig earth… It’s a year-round family endeavor in our house. We plant saved seeds in flats starting in February and harvest tubers through January- our daughter pulled some of the last carrots from the garden last weekend. Enjoy every minute of it.

  38. Hi Novella – Congratulations to you and Billy on your baby girl, that is some lucky baby!

  39. Yes, congratulations, Novella! I did get to read that SHE had arrived on your sister’s blog. Not even a darling baby goat is as precious and beautiful as a baby girl (or boy)! You are off on the greatest adventure life can give.

  40. Congratulations! I recently found Farm City while browsing the farm section of my local public library & loved it. I also just acquired my first chickens. Very happy to have found your blog!

Leave a Reply

