Hibernation

Hey y’all. Really, I’m here. But just for a second. There are big plans brewing over this winter, getting ready for a big spring. In short, I’m dormant right now, but rooting around the deep depths.
One new thing to share: I graffitied my own damn fence. I have been really bummed around a certain posse of taggers that kept tagging my fence with their name: Bob. Bob? In bubble letters? In expensive silver spray paint (cans thrown into the garden post-tag)? Fuck you Bob, you are hitting my vegetables with your spray paint. So I hired some locals and they tagged my fence and made it look purdy.
graffiti
I’ve heard that taggers won’t tag other respected taggers graffiti. Hey, I’m working with what I’ve got, fighting fire with fire.

17 responses to “Hibernation

  1. One of so many reasons you are so rad, Novella. It looks great.

  2. Love your approach and great job with the artwork!

  3. I hope it works! I see tags over tags sometimes. Even tags over murals!

  4. Respect the Fence!!!!

    Are those artichokes I see in the parking strip?

  5. Carol Michaelis

    The fence looks fantastic! Good thinking! I wish you a healthy, happy, and safe winter….holiday, too. Carol

  6. I like it! Great idea!

  7. It looks really cool!

  8. I always pass by your farm on your way to work. Curious on whats going on behind that fence. But I’m always late and have no time to be nosy. Glad your fence got that paint job otherwise I would never of found this web page. If possible I would love to take a look at what you have going on.

  9. Novella, you rock!

  10. Looks awesome! LOVE it!

  11. Love the fence!

    Happy New Year!

  12. Great minds, lady… ;)

    We’re doing our Winter hunker-down too. Much planning and plotting is going down just the now. We’re going to add pigs and honeybees to the menagerie this Spring, so we’re deep in the research phase. I’m looking forward to putting ourselves to the test in making this all happen come Spring. :)

    The fence looks badass. Those jive-turkeys had better respect it!

  13. This is great. It looks really good.

  14. A perfect solution to a social environmental problem. Fantastic.

  15. It looks great! Seems like one of the only things I’ve seen around lately that takes pride in the neighborhood. Thanks for it!
    I know I’m late to the party, but I’ve been avoiding your blog intentionally until I could actually finish Farm City and not ruin any surprises. Catching up on blog entries now. Sorry that the garden is dormant now, but I’m on 27th and West, would you want a hand gardening or any other big projects this spring? I was raised gardening and am cursing the apartment building we can afford. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

