Farm Stand

I was laughing the other day when I had my farm stand and no one showed up. Laughing because I remember how the City of Oakland had been worried about traffic and parking. Yes, just swarms of people showing up to buy some kale. Ha ha.

gtfarmstand

Actually, two people showed up. Jillian, who took these cute photos! and Jared, my upstairs neighbor. Thanks guys.

I really don’t mind the low attendance. It’s good for me to clean up a bit, harvest what’s ready, and put up what always feels like a kid’s lemonade stand.

It being a literal ghosttown at my GT Farm stand this month did make me face facts: I have to get out there and sell my farm products.

So, I’m excited to announce that I’ve started selling produce to the following restaurants:
Sweet Bar. Just around the corner from my house, this bakery and restaurant makes some really excellent food (cauliflower pizza; bacon scones, crispy flatbreads with hummus). The owner, Mani, is buying dry-farmed early girl tomatoes, Paul Robson tomatoes, Sun Gold cherry tomatoes, beets, and Pink Beauty radishes from me. They are having a story night August 22, and a Michael Jackson dinner August 29 (Mani used to cook for MJ, who apparently loved chilaquiles).
Cafe Bartavelle. My friend Suzanne opened this coffee/wine bar in the old Cafe Fanny location. The coffee is epic. The little wooden plates of tasty tidbits are adorable. She’s buying honey for her honey ricotta french toast, and kale for their kale/arugula/ricotta sandwich. Simple elegance.
Cosecha. Authentic Mexican in Housewives Market in Old Oakland. The posole, the wild shrimp tacos, the guacamole…it’s all delicious!! Chef Dominica is buying purslane and Pink Beauty radishes from me. She even uses the greens from the radishes to make mole and the green posole.
Township (Not yet opened but doing private parties). I’m selling tomatoes and table grapes to Abeni’s new restaurant slash urban farm store.

The hustle is on.
But still, come by to the next farm stand, if you can. Next one is Saturday, September 28, 10am-1pm; then October 4, 4pm-7pm.
gthoney

6 responses to “Farm Stand

  1. Linda Worden

    You need a marketing person! Hope all that kale didn’t go to waste.

  2. That is disappointing! Did you advertise beyond your front steps? I suppose everyone who follows your blog should have known.

  3. I’m impressed that restaurants are wanting to buy your produce. That’s brilliant! More marketing next time for the Farm Stand perhaps, but it sounds like you’re doing great! Live and learn and all that… :-)

  4. I might come – if you told us where it is.

  5. I dream about one day traveling down from BC just to see your farm and farm stand (and if I’m really lucky see your Bill and your baby as well)
    Julie

  6. Jared is rad! He saw me peeping over the fence one day and came out to chat with me for awhile.

Leave a Reply

