Farm Tour: June 13

Oh goodness. I’ve been in deep dormancy for the past three months, only now just feeling like peeking my head up and checking in on the blog. Here’s the report:
-The two bee hives are doing extremely well. They are heavy with honey and lots of signs of new hatchlings.
-I expanded the chicken run. The girls were not getting enough exercise, so I opened up the back area for them. In addition to weed control, they are now eating dead bees, disturbing ant habitat, and probably eating codling moth larvae under the apple trees. Their eggs have turned a much darker orange color.
-I have been eating way too much broccoli. Got a little crazy with the planting and now we have to eat it every night for dinner. Good problem to have.
-Planted the last fruit tree in our mini-orchard a few weeks ago. I read about the new Zaiger’s NectaPlum in Sunset magazine and had to buy it. Only 300 chill hours!!
-Finally, finally, replaced the yucky, disappointing sour orange (supposed to taste like a Seville but it never did) with a Bearss lime–to recreate the one that died a few years ago.
-Gearing up for a couple turkeys. Getting poults in May, raising them til T-day.
And, I’m going to be part of the Institute of Urban Homesteading’s Urban Farm Tour 2015. June 13, mark your calendars, and check in soon to buy tickets. It’s such a fun event, and I can’t wait to show off the trees, the turkeys, and maybe a drip irrigation system if I ever get that off the ground.

2 responses to “Farm Tour: June 13

  1. Oh how I would love to come see your farm! I just finished listening to Farm City on audio book while driving to and from work and grad school. As soon as I graduate in May, I am going to build up my lil suburban home into a homestead in NC that we moved in last year. I cannot wait! So far we have chickens and ducks. I love how your wrote the book! With your anecdotes mixed with history or educational material made for a great listen! I learned so much!! Do you have any suggestions on other good reads like yours?

  2. Now to leave the nest…get away from ‘reading’ about urban farming and meet up with like minded individuals in your area, They’ll provide more entertainment and education than any book!

Leave a Reply

